worth 1,000 words?


We have no news to report from Silver City, except that Max is healing really well.  He’s up to his old tricks – bringing me the errant sock, my slippers or shoes (one by one), and the occasional toy as an enticement to play.

It’s great to see him running, jumping, spinning, and playing with other dogs at the dog park.  I don’t even really mind that he is snatching the above mentioned footwear.  It just shows me that he is back to himself again.

We just got back from today’s visit to the dog park, where he met another new friend.  Bella is a 2-year-old rescue dog who was visiting Silver City with her people from Rio Rancho – north of Albuquerque.  The dogs had fun and we people had a nice visit, so it was another good adventure.

On the way to the park, I stopped at Three Dogs for a latté.  This great little place was almost a daily habit when we were here last year, and it didn’t disappoint today.  As I got out of the car, a man came over and commented on how far from home I was.  We ended up talking for about 10 minutes about Honda Elements, travel, how I ended up in Silver City…  those Maine plates – or that gorgeous (albeit banged up looking) Poodleboy – will get a conversation going every time!

I just got my lenses for the iPhone today and took a couple of fisheye pix of Mr. Max.  Since I have no other news to report, I’ll share those pix, as well as one of my Silver City studio from the other morning.

photo of Max

What do you mean you want to sit here? I was here first! (not a fisheye pic!)

fisheye photo of Max by door

Are we going to the dogpark or not?

fishey photo of Max in kitchen

BIG DOG, small kitchen!

photo of kitchen table with breakfast and studio stuff

Breakfast with studio… It’s a good thing I don’t have company coming for dinner!

I also got my first set of Pimsleur Italian lessons the other day and am starting to listen to them for 30 minutes a day…

And how about an update on what I’ rading these days?  My friend, Sarah, sent me a box of  tools and other goodies from my island studio last week.  In the box, she included A Year with Hafiz.  I’ve been reading a poem at breakfast every morning.

When I was at White Sands National Monument, I bought a book titled Nobody’s Horses, about the wild horse roundup that took place there back in 1994.  I just finished it last night, and it was a fascinating read.  Well written, informative, emotional, and uplifting.

Before that, Zero Day, by David Baldacci satisfied my need for a good thriller…

So, until the next post, I hope these pix were worth 1,000 words!

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Books to read, New Mexico, playing with a poodle, traveling in a Honda Element, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to worth 1,000 words?

  1. You go girl! Your portable studio is awesome 🙂

  2. Gandalf says:

    I was beginning to wonder what was happening . . . and now I know! Max is looking good, your studio table unbelievably organized, as seems your time (30 minutes for Italian!). I’ve just come back from a two-day visit to the incredibly ambulatory Lucia Isabel and can report that, after dusting off my high school algebra, I was able to calculate that the 470 miles there and back I consumed a gallon of gas for every 61.9 miles I drove in my Honda Insight and it’s 12 years old and has 130K on it. Not bad for the old girl. I couldn’t hardly believe as they say in the environs of Boston, Love, Gandalf

    • Maureen Farr says:

      nice mileage there! Enviable, as a matter of fact. organized only because I haven’t done anything with it yet (table) and the 30 minuted of Italian is because that is the ength of the lesson! Max is feeling good too! love you, too…

  3. Guy Oliver says:

    It has been over 50 years since I experienced the immensity of White Sands and dealing with the Govt. at White Sands Missle Range. They closed it during firing in case one went astray

  4. Yay! Sounds like you guys are having a lot of fun and settling into SCNM! I like the fisheyed Max pics–cute–but the first pic of him was the cutest! We’re having fun down in Baltimore–lots of busy busy, but doing lots of good stuff! xoxoxo love, Cin

Leave a comment