Max Poodle January 19, 2010-September 6, 2017


It’s been a long time since I gave you an update, and this is one of the hardest I will ever write.

My sweet Poodle boy, Max, was diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor on September 6th. The best, and only, thing I could do was to say goodbye to him while he was still under anesthesia for the MRI that found the tumor.

He was 7-1/2 years old, and many of you knew him from our trip around the country, and our second trip to Silver City, NM the following winter.

Dapper boy. He was so patient with me when I wanted to dress him up for photos!

Here is a tribute that my good friend, Buzz Masters, wrote about him:

“He was The Mayor of Deer Isle. He was Cary Grant in a dog coat, always up for a party, tuxedo slightly wrinkled, and if Maureen would have let him, a gin martini in a short stemmed glass.

Before a haircut, when he was shaggy and fluffed up, he did a damn good impersonation of a meatloaf. His innocent look, and tilted head, when pizza was missing from the counter did make you believe it was not him, and many a mouse was blamed for the loss of hamburgers, cheese, crackers, and the occasional apple.

On a walk, he was so fast, he was able to make it all the way out to Sheep Head Island before everyone else had gotten ten steps across the first beach.

We would see him, a small, bouncing speck way in the distance, not coming when he was called because he was having such a fabulous run.

When we would finally make our way out there, and he happily would greet us with a leap and a spin, Maureen would respond, ‘You %#€^*#! Where do you think you are going ?’.

His reply was always, ‘Well…right here, Mo. BEST DAY EVER!’

Best dog. Completely exuberant love of life and Maureen. Good friend to Finn, Piper, Dotty, and running companion/bunny chaser to Lewis.

Forever in our hearts.”

Max had the distinct honor of meeting Robert Indiana a few years ago. The famous artist was smitten with our local celebrity–who took it all with a grain of sand, and a poodle shrug of the shoulder!

It sums him up perfectly.

My heart is so broken…

I have set up a youcaring site to help offset the staggering vet bills. If you want to help, please click on this link.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Max Poodle January 19, 2010-September 6, 2017

  1. hank whitsett says:

    that Buzz is very articulate. She’s never said two words to me…

    Again, sad for you and very sorry he’s left us. His attentiveness to you, Momo. Deeply bonded.

    Just listened to a version of Nessun dorma, so that was uplifting…

    love you h

  2. so sorry maureen..know you loved and respected Max so much

    Lindsay

    .

  3. C.A. Hecker says:

    Oh, Maureen. I found your email last night but was too heart sore to respond right away especially as I could not even see the keyboard (which is still very blurry). It’s easy to say “I know how you feel.” But, I do, indeed, know how you feel and I also know that your broken heart will heal with stitches of love because it is holding Max’s memory and that big boy needs a strong container.

    Take your time, cry a lot, don’t even pretend that you have to behave “normally.” And, of course, remember that you are loved by friends and family but also by complete strangers who only knew you as “Max’s Mom” and appreciated that bond.

    Love, C

    _____

  4. Dear Maureen, I’m sending you love. I know how hard it is to lose your beautiful friend & companion. Take good care. Love, Karen

Leave a comment