Super Bowl, Downton Abbey… who wins?


I’m not a football fan, but who can resist watching your own “hometown” team play the Super Bowl?  The New England Patriots are the closest team to my hometown so…

I watched.

and they lost.  BUT.  It was a great game.  They almost had it there right at the end.  ’nuf said.  I am not a football fan.

And then there’s Downton Abbey.  Thanks to Katy – who introduced me to my first episode last Sunday night in High Point – I’m hooked.  As luck would have it, I didn’t miss tonight’s episode while watching my “home” team lose!

Super Bowl / Downton Abbey – they both won tonight!  Good TV.

Meanwhile, Mr. Max is mending slowly.  He doesn’t like getting up and down from the bed so I guess he’s hurting more than the little stoic will let on.  I lift him up onto the bed and lift him down when it’s time.  Using my knees and not my back I might add since he weighs a hefty 64 pounds.

We had a lovely drive from Montgomery, AL to Jackson, MS today.  Partly sunny, then cloudy with sprinkles (sounds like a DQ Sundae doesn’t it?).  I-80 most of the way, and it provided us a nice tour through the Alabama countryside.

Gently rolling hills give way to long relatively flat stretches.  We saw a lot of beef on the hoof today – green fields with grazing cattle.  Also saw the remnants of last season’s cotton fields – dry brown stalks with a few little white cotton bolls still clinging as far as the eye could see.

And the countryside itself was quite beautiful with piney woods and tall, bare deciduous trees, those green rolling fields, small towns off somewhere beyond the trees, occasional poor sides of towns right up along the road.

We saw a lot of roadkill:  6 deer, numerous raccoons and unkowns, two coyotes, one armadillo, and a turtle.   Each one brought to mind how lucky I am to still have Max… and each one got a silent blessing from me as I drove by.

Most people who have cell phones know of, or have done, the occasional “pocket dialing” where the phone gets accidentally dialed while in your pocket. Somehow, I managed to take a screenshot of my iPhone today.  I don’t know how I did it, and I didn’t even know I did it until I was downloading the pictures for today’s blog post!

photo of screenshot of iPone

Maybe if I had a new iPhone 4S, Siri would have asked me if I really wanted to take this picture.

The other things we saw today were a couple of interesting signs:

photo of political sign for Twinkle

Wouldn’t it be fun to be represented by someone named Twinkle? I can just hear the evening news anchor saying something like “Today in Washington, President Twinkle announced the new law requiring all employers to provide four day weekends.”

And how about this one?  I don’t think I’d want to admit I lived in this Mississippi town:

photo of exit sign for Chunky in Mississippi

This is real folks! Chunky, Mississippi really exists.

One final note.  The ants are taking over Alabama.  I wanted to get pictures, but you’ll just have to trust me on this one.  All along the highways, on grassy strips by parking lots, and in empty lots and fields of Alabama, there are all these conical mounds of sand.  Anthills.

I know they are anthills because I checked them out in the parking lot of our hotel in Montgomery.  They range from really small ones 1-2 inches high, to behemoths that are probably a foot and a half tall.  And they are literally everywhere!

So maybe the ants will be the real winners…

(After this weird little post, I feel a bit like the blogger version of Andy Rooney.)

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in On the Road, Random thoughts, traveling in a Honda Element, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Super Bowl, Downton Abbey… who wins?

  1. hank says:

    irish pub!!!! music!

  2. What a funny post today, Mom! Between Chunky, MI and President Twinkle, it was great! We watched the SB yesterday too–Maya was VERY disappointed that her team lost. Poor kid. . . Glad you’re having a good trip–I’m sure we’ll talk today–love ya, Cin

  3. The plot thickens on Downton Abbey! Didn’t you just love the show last night?! 🙂

    Max must be feeling bruises under all that fur…po’boy. He’s lucky he’s got a mom like you to take care of him and pamper him as he recuperates. Although we miss you guys terribly you made the right choice–our two are frolicking in the pool (even Hershey) and you know with Max they would have gotten him wound up too much to recover from his mishap.

    We 2-leggeds attempted snorkeling yesterday but the sea was choppy 1-2′ waves and even though the boat went out, after a quick dip in the churning sea we both swam back to the ship as it just was too much. We’ll wait for a “flat sea day” if we’re lucky enough to get one! However, we did see 3 manatees playing in our canal, the tail flipped up in the air like a mermaid. Right off our dock! Wonderful.

    I must say the unusual names on signs you are finding along the road is something I look forward to discovering every time I read one of your blog posts, Maureen! Chunky and Twinkle…not sure you can top those!

    Lots of love to you from Key Largo

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Hi Katy! yes, the plot doth thicken! what’s next looks terribly interesting too…

      We miss you guys too, but it was a good decision to head on alone. he’s getting more and more of his bounce back as each day passes, but he’s really not up to snuff yet. for example, he just “pounced” on his chewy – which is something he always does whenever I ask “where’s that chewy?” mazingly, I don’t see any bruising – he was shaved all around the road rash scrapes, and they are basically those kind of broad scrapes/scabs. if there’s bruising it must be under the scabs.

      I’m glad you are all four having a great time in Key Largo! can’t believe Hershey is swimming too! I hope the seas calm so you can snorkel. it’s one of my favorite things to do in warm waters like in FL.

      I keep looking for unusual signs. They are pretty funny, eh?! much love to all

Leave a Reply

