Sunday morning… Montgomery, Alabama


Max is starting to itch – which means he’s healing.  And he’s starting to scratch – which also means he’s healing!  I’m glad he’s healing, but have to watch closely that he doesn’t scratch and open up his road rash scabs.  I know.  TMI – Too Much Information!

We drove from Tallahassee to here yesterday – arriving about 2:45 PM after an uneventful drive.  We did, however, see a couple of interesting exit signs.  Notice the name of the second town on this sign:

 

photo of road sign reading Maxville

We didn’t stop to check out this little burg. I didn’t tell Max he has his own town. Didn’t want it to go to his head…

We also saw signs for SNEADS and Graceville – both town names brought Dr. Seuss to mind.  Remember the SNEEDS?  And couldn’t he have written a story with Graceville in it? I tried for quite some time to come up with an appropriate Seussian rhyme, but couldn’t do it.

We are mostly driving on Interstates because I want to make tracks west, and let Max rest as much as possible.  He doesn’t totally relax in the car.  Every tap of the brakes, or the sound of the turn signal will get him to snap his head up and look around.  If we are truly slowing for a stop, then he’s up and on alert.  If it’s just a slowdown for a turn to another road, or a stoplight, he will heave a sigh and lay his head back down.  So, Interstates are good because it’s just long range driving.

When I checked the driving distance calculator Friday night for the distance and time to Montgomery, it told me approx. 3 hours 50 minutes.  This is a great website that I discovered on our trip last year, and it’s always accurate, so imagine my chagrin when Jack the GPS guy said we’d be there in TWO hours and 45 minutes.  That Jack isn’t the best navigator – well, he’s not the best communicator is a better way of putting it – so I wasn’t sure what to think.

I mean, I was pleased that it was such a short trip.  I even thought about canceling my reservation in Montgomery and continuing on to Jackson, MS.  I figured I could make that decision when we reached Montgomery – which would be early afternoon – and we could still head on if we felt up to it.

So. Cruising west on I-10 towards Pensacola, knowing we were turning north for Montgomery at some point.  And there it was.  The answer to the discrepancy between Jack the GPS guy and the driving distance calculator.

“ENTERING CENTRAL TIME ZONE.”

And we gained an hour in the 65 mph blink of an eye!

Max didn’t notice…

Just before we left Florida, I spotted a sign for Sweet Honeybells.  Then, a sign for Fresh Strawberries.  Then, Mangos.  Tomatoes.  And there it was – the Fruit Stand…

photo of fruit stand in florida

The sign on the road said “Sweet Honeybells.” How could I resist? And the stand was oh so inviting! Look at those luscious colors.

When I stopped, the little Tangelos on the right were sweeter than the Sweet Honeybells, so that’s what I bought.  Sweet, juice-running-down-your-chin kind of delicious!

Last night, it rained here – a hard, pouring rain that washed the little pebbles out from under the shrubbery into the parking lot. This morning, the air was fresh and cool, and about an hour ago the sun came out.  So, we’ve got another glorious day to drive.

Meanwhile, Max is napping on the floor in preparation for remaining semi-alert on the drive.

photo of Max in back of car

You’ve been SHARING these photos of me? Bad Momo! Bad. Sit. STAY! No more PUPARAZZI for YOU!

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in On the Road, traveling in a Honda Element, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday morning… Montgomery, Alabama

  1. Guy Oliver says:

    Maureen
    Sounds so attractive and reminds me of so many good times I would like to cuddle up beside Max and ride along.
    GUY

  2. hank says:

    jackson is a lovely town, with a good irish pub… just in case.
    ‘maxville!
    bad momo!’
    (lmao)

    happy for ya. stay safe, deah

    xxoo
    h

  3. Poor Frankenhound! I’d be upset if you were sharing pictures of ME with stitches all over my poor shaved head, too! Lol! Cute picture though, despite healing scabs…. I LOVE honey bells–they are the world’s best citrus, eh? Hope you bought tons!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Yeah, well he’s getting over it! by the way, if you read the captions I did NOT get the honeybells because the tangelos were sweeter!

  4. Gandalf says:

    So this afternoon, the 113th anniversary of my mother’s birth, I get back from a couple of days with Sarah Margaret, download my e-mail and there find one apparently from somewhere in the middle of yet another Momo odyssey which involves serious injury to Max (heal rapidly, young man). When did this journey begin? Why is this only the first missive to reach me? Will i get more? Is the apparent randomness a function of solar flares or random internet aberration? Have I been so cyber-buried in Ely, MN watching Jewel’s Den Cam and her two two-week-old cubs that I’ve been impervious to messages?????

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Hendrik, you are not alone in this mystery. I’ve had several people tell me they aren’t getting all the posts… I’m going to check and if there’s anything I can do I will.

      Max is healing nicely, and will be OK but looks like he was hit by a truck (which he WAS)… scariest thing I’ve ever witnessed. thought for sure he was dead. lucky boy. lucky me.

      we’re on our way to silver city and in Jackson MS tonight. watching Super Bowl 46. Go Pats!!!

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

