Three states in one day…


Three states in one day.  I’m sure it’s not a record – especially considering it’s only a total of about 217 miles – but it makes for an interesting statement.  We left Beaufort, SC at 10:15 AM, traveled to Savannah, GA for lunch and a walkabout, and arrived in St. Augustine, FL around 3:55 PM.

According to my driving distance calculator, we could have made the trip in about 4 hours 3 minutes.  Typical of the Tumbleweeds to take an extra hour and 40 minutes!   The stop in Savannah was probably 45 minutes. Then there was the wrong turn, the stop for gas, the rest stop pee break (Max) and 10 minute nap (me)…

Oh yeah, there was a Dairy Queen next door to the gas station, so we each had an ice cream.  Max thoroughly enjoyed his little dish of vanilla.  And he got every last lick of it!

But, back to Beaufort for a minute.  It’s pronounced Byou-fert, unlike Beaufort, GA which is pronounced BO-fort.  We stopped in Beaufort on our way north last year and I took a bunch of pix and wrote about its history so I’m not going to reprise that today (check out that post by clicking here).

We stayed at City Loft Hotel in Beaufort, and man-oh-man was it a treat!  From the phone call I made to book the room to the check-in experience, it was first class all the way.  My friends, Katy and Scott, recommended it because they’ve stayed there before.  Since we were all traveling more or less together, it made sense to book a room there too.

It’s pet friendly, completely remodeled in 2009 to look like a hip City hotel.  I think my (almost) favorite part was the deep soaking tub (had a hot soak last night) and the fabulous glass shower with four adjustable heads (showered this morning even though I really, really didn’t need to!).

It’s hard to decide on what was best about it.  Bed, decor, shower, tub, spacious bathroom… it was all super.

Here’s a couple of pix of the bathroom:

This pic from their website is small, but a better angle than mine (below).

This tub can probably hold 15" of water! What a luxury…

I want a shower like this at home!

We were up with the sun this morning, and out for a walk by 7:20.  Max sniffed his way through the parking lot, down the side street to the water, pausing every now and then to water a bush or clump of grass.

Max, at the end of the street by our hotel in Beaufort, SC at 7:30 AM. The sun was pretty bright behind him, the water was flat calm, and there was a little mist rising off the water.

Last night, on our final walk before bed, he did the same.  When we returned to the hotel, he selected one car out of all the cars parked in the lot to give a thorough going-over with his nose.  It was Katy and Scott’s car!

He started at the rear bumper, up along the edge of the hatch.  Wag, wag.  Sniff, snuffle, wag, wag, wag.  Around to the left side.  Sniff the door handles.  Go back to the rear.  Sniff the hatch. Again.  Wag, wag.  To the right side.  Sniff the rear tire, the bottom of the door, the door handle.  Sniff up in the air near the windows.  Wag.  Around to the rear again…

OK boy, time to go inside…

Somewhat reluctantly – after all he could smell his friends – he came with me, and we went inside for the night.

I spotted this lovely Beaufort Tree Walk last night in the dark, and came back this morning to get a photo.

Before we left town, we took a walk along the waterfront park, I got a latté, and we drove off in search of more adventure.  I can’t say the drive was boring;  it was really much more of the same as yesterday.  Beautiful low country vistas across marshlands, piney woods, small towns, and sunshine.  All in all, another glorious Tumbleweed drive.

It was hot in Savannah.  Not 80s or anything, but definitely hotter than anything I’ve encountered yet on this trip.  (I just checked and Savannahs high today was 76°)  We walked around the waterfront for a bit, then I went to a Five Guys and got a burger and fries for my lunch.  I sat in the car to eat, and it was like a hot summer day in Maine.  Mmm-mmm!

I’m feeling really happy to be out on the road again, with my loyal companion.  He’ll go wherever I go, sniffing, wagging, occasionally pulling and bounding around, but always with me.  I love that.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in playing with a poodle, Savannah, South Carolina, St Augustine Florida, traveling in a Honda Element, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three states in one day…

  1. Gandalf says:

    9:49!

Leave a Reply

