Sunday update…


It’s hard to believe that we have been “parked” for a couple of days now and I haven’t written any posts. Seems I owe an update on what we did in Baltimore… and beyond.

Our last post on Thursday mentioned a visit to the American Visionary Art Museum in Baltimore.  Friday, after breakfast at Ann and David’s house, I packed the car, loaded Max in, and we headed downtown to the museum.  I had an address programmed into the GPS and wouldn’t you know?  Jack the GPS guy got us there with no problem, except it was the wrong address!  We were off by 700 numbers!  I had programmed 100 Key Highway, and it should have been 800 Key Highway.

Anyway, we got there and I left Max to guard Tumbleweed while I went to see the exhibit All Things Round: Galaxie, Eyeballs, and Karma.

image of logo for all things round: galaxies, eyebals, and karma

Ann had given me a free pass, so once I got my hand stamped I got right to it.  I’ve loved this museum ever since the first time I visited – probably eight years ago.  Here’s a great synopsis of what the museum is all about – straight from their own mission statement on the website:

What is Visionary Art?
Like love, you know it when you see it. But here’s the longer definition, straight out of our Mission Statement: Visionary art as defined for the purposes of the American Visionary Art Museum refers to art produced by self-taught individuals, usually without formal training, whose works arise from an innate personal vision that revels foremost in the creative act itself. In short, visionary art begins by listening to the inner voices of the soul, and often may not even be thought of as ‘art’ by its creator.

Take a peek at their website and you’ll have a good idea of what’s in store for you in person.  Unfortunately (for me, at least) there was a huge crowd of high school students at the museum the morning we visited and it was so crowded that I didn’t get to fully appreciate my visit.  I watched four Buddhist monks painting a gorgeous sand mandala in one of the upstairs galleries, and wandered through the rest of the exhibits without much enthusiasm.  It’s the first time I haven’t thoroughly lost myself in the art there, and I am a little sad about that.

That said, there was much to see and I did find myself drawn to different pieces… herewith a couple of (illegally snapped) photos from my visit…

photo of Fifi the giant pink poodle

Who wouldn’t love to have a pink poodle named Fifi in their collection? A giant pink poodle, I might add. She is in a huge warehouse size building - note the big loading door to her left…

photo of Fifi the giant pink poodle

A little bit closer… she is actually a kinetic sculpture.

I thought this chair by Robert Seven, titled Yardstick Throne with Extra Measure (Fit for a Ruler), was pretty cool!

silly photos posted in the adies room at visionary art museum in baltimore

OK – so here’s the women’s bathroom at the Visionary Art Museum in Baltimore. Are you getting an idea of what to expect from the museum?

photo of advantages of being a woman

This one caught my eye first in the women’s bathroom at the Visionary Art Museum in Baltimore.

Don’t get me wrong – I did have a good time, just not the same experience as I had in the past.  But, thinking of that fork in the road from the other day, I would do well to never expect the same experience from anything!  Every day is different – even when we go to the same places or do the same things.

One of my favorite parts of the whole Visionary Art Museum is the gift shop!  For a found object junkie it’s da bomb!  Lots of cabinets with little drawers filled with odd things.  Lots of just plain oddball, funky stuff that kids – and artists like me – would love.  (And I do!)

So, after an hour in the museum, I spent another half hour rifling around in drawers, bins, and shelves.  And I came out with a small bag filled with “treasures” like a bunch of metal jar caps, religious medals, and 100 small glass vials…

So then it was in the car and head south for High Point, NC and our friends Katy and Scott.  Max was looking forward to seeing their two dogs, Loolie and Hershey.  Along the way, we took a short detour into Lynchburg, VA, found the Riverwalk and headed off on foot and paw for a nice 2 mile walk.  Once we had gone about 100 feet, I unleashed Max and he set off nosing his way along the path.  Every now and then, he would stop and check to make sure I was still following.  Good dog.  Good dog.

photo of max on the riverwalk in Lynchburg, VA

Max was kind enough to pause from his run so I could get a picture on the riverwalk in Lynchburg, VA. What a glorious day to be out and walking!

photo of Max outside tunnel Lynchburg, VA

Max had no qualms about heading into this tunnel on the riverwalk in Lynchburg, VA. Note those muddy feet!

Max inside the tunnel, Lynchburg, VA

This isn’t a great photo, but gives a sense of the interior of the tunnel. Max would have kept on going all the way through, but I decided I’d had enough and we headed back…

Overall, we had a pleasant drive to High Point – arriving about 3:30 PM.  The past two days have been pretty relaxing.  Katy and Scott are good friends and good hosts.  Saturday, we went to a marvelous Vietnamese place for sandwiches.  While Scott picked up his new glasses, Katy and I went to the Weatherspoon Art Museum.  One of the most striking exhibits was Infra, an exhibit of infrared photographs by Photographer Richard Mosse, who spent the last two years shooting a new series of work in the eastern Congo.  The images are stunning – printed really large.

infrared photo by richard mosse

One of Richard Mosse’s exquisite infrared photos on dispaly at the Weatherspoon. (courtesy Weatherspoon Art Museum)

photo of gallery at weatherspoon art museum showing richard mosse work

This photo shows the scale of these gorgeous photographs in the gallery. (courtesy Weatherspoon Art Museum)

infrared photo by richard mosse

Unfortunately, this small photo doesn’t do justice to this amazing image. (courtesy Weatherspoon Art Museum)

Monday morning, we head for Charleston overnight, then on to Beaufort, SC.  And after that, it’s on to Key Largo – via a couple of stops.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Charleston, Friends along the way, Key Largo Florida, Maryland, museums, North Carolina, playing with a poodle, South Carolina, traveling in a Honda Element, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle, Virginia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday update…

  1. Good post! Too bad you weren’t into AVAM this time, huh? Drive safely tomorrow! Love ya, Cin

  2. hank says:

    thanks for the update (and wonderful photos). miss you

  3. Gandalf says:

    . . .procrastinating 9:33AM

Leave a Reply

