Day Two: a fork in the road, and longing for a dog park…


I encountered my first real fork in the road today.  It was on State Street in New London, CT. I had just come from Expressiones – that same little coffee place I hit last year while waiting to take the ferry to Orient Point.

It was a little after 9 AM – more like 9:20 AM to be exact.  And I want to be exact, because once again I was off the desired departure time.  Not by much, but still.

And then

there was

this fork in the road…

photo of a fork in the road

Well, what did you expect to see? This IS a REAL fork in the road.

I guess I had you going there for a moment, didn’t I?  When I saw this poor fork – totally flattened from being run over – I figured it had MY name on it!  After all, I’m the Queen of All She Can Pick Up On the Street.  How could I NOT?

The fork is riding in the little cubby directly below my Frida Kahlo shrine from the last trip.  Along with a soft deerskin pouch with spare reading glasses and spare change, a pen, and one earring whose mate was lost.  Not exactly a place of honor, but close enough to remind me that I should always take the fork in the road.

Max is counting the days until we reach High Point, NC and his good friends Loolie and Hershey.  He wants to run, and play, and run some more.  I’m hoping to find a dog park or some other place he can cut loose tomorrow, since we haven’t had any opportunities so far.  Two days on the road and longing for a doggy park…

Tonight, we are living the high life – physically and literally!  Third floor room (with a nice view) in a Radisson at Cross Keys, Baltimore.  King size bed, comfy reading chair with ottoman, big TV (nobody is watching it…).  Quiet, calm, warm.  What more could a gal (or dog?) ask for?  Well, I could ask that the dog in question give me some small amount of space on that bed!

photo of Max sleeping on bed at the Radisson

Bed hog! Or is that “Bed DOG”?? (not the greatest pic, but you get the idea.)

We came back around 9:45  from dinner with my son-in-law’s mom, Ann, who lives within walking distance to our hotel.  She and I spent a really marvelous almost 3-1/2 hours talking and catching up, including a great dinner of homemade soup, chicken salad, bread and wine, fresh strawberries and chocolate!  Max was on his best behavior, which was a great relief to me.

Tomorrow morning, we’ll walk over and have breakfast with Ann, then pack up the car and head downtown to the American Visionary Art Museum.  If you ever get to Baltimore, I highly recommend it.  Just to give you a sense of the museum, the current exhibit is titled “Everything Round – Galaxies, Eyeballs, and Karma. ”  I’ll report in on it tomorrow…

After that, it’s on the road again, again.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Friends along the way, traveling in a Honda Element, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day Two: a fork in the road, and longing for a dog park…

  1. So much fun to read about your travels, as my dog Roubidoux and I made our adventures. Perhaps our paths will cross? 🙂

  2. Yay! Tumbleweeds are on the road again–I love that fork, and I have to say that whenever I go to Baltimore, I always have breakfast with your son-in-law’s mother, Ann! 😉 (After all, she IS my mother-in-law!) Glad you had a good time and took the right fork in the road! love ya, Cin

  3. you have done a great job of reminding ALL of us to take the fork in the road! thanks, maureen! btw we love that museum, too. xo

  4. Guy Oliver says:

    On the road again, If you run into Charles Kuralt tell him I said hello. I will be following you Maureen, it is my daily adventure.
    GUY

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Great! Guy, I ove getting your comments. you’ve seen a lot of this big old country of ours, and you always had something interesting to tell me about the places I hit last year. Welcome back aboard the Tumbleweed Express!

  5. hank says:

    good to be back on board, you guys. can’t wait to hear about galaxies, eyeballs and karma

  6. Lori C. says:

    “When you come to a fork in the road, take it.” Yes! Fun reading, Mo. Happy trails.

  7. Evelyn Hannah says:

    Maureen please contact me when you are in High Point, NC.
    I am in Greensboro , neighboring town which is my perimanent residence. There is a dog park in Greensboro.
    Evelyn Hannah and Bree your New Orleans doggie park friends.

  8. Gandalf says:

    Still procrastinating — 9:28 AM

Leave a Reply

