Color of the season…


Max and I went for a walk today at one of our favorite places – Mariner’s Park, less than a mile from our house. It was a lovely sunny breezy day here, with temps in the low 60s. Not bad for late October.

When I saw these red berries by the twisted trunk of an old apple tree, I had to get a photo…
photo of apple tree at Mariner's Park

I wanted to get a closeup photo, and when I moved in for the shot I discovered a small plastic box hidden under the twisted trunk. Imagining all kinds of things – like maybe someone left their lunch and forgot to come back, or hid a stash of money, or… I reached in and pulled it out.
small waterproof box found at Mariner's Park.

and opened it…
photo of contents of waterproof box

Turns out it’s one of those little hidden letterboxes that people [in the know] know about. These folks go around to places hunting for them and “signing in” when they find them. You can go to the letterboxing website to find out more about it. Here’s what I found on their homepage to describe letterboxing in a nutshell:

LETTERBOXING is an intriguing pastime combining navigational skills and rubber stamp artistry in a charming “treasure hunt” style outdoor quest. A wide variety of adventures can be found to suit all ages and experience levels.

There was a small notebook, a cool rubber stamp with an anchor on it, and NO PEN to sign in with, and NO INKPAD with which to stamp. I looked it all over, discovered there was another letterbox hidden somewhere in the park. The paper that held the clue to its location was badly waterlogged, but I gathered that it was somewhere near a “memorial bench” – of which there are several.

Meanwhile, Max was waiting patiently for me to put away the silly human stuff and get back to the important work of playing ball…
photo of Max sitting at Mariner's Park

…which I did.

photo of Max running with ball at Mariner's Park

We spent a fun hour playing ball, walking [me] and running [Max] up, down, and around the park. He managed to get into the low tide mud – fortunately, only up to his ankles on this particular day – and we were able to wash it off with the water bottles when we got back to the car.

The rest of the day was pretty uneventful, at least from a dog’s eye view. Laundry, baking, cello practice, a trip to the dump, a grocery run, some studio time, a little computer time… not necessarily in that order.

Then, around 5 o’clock I learned [through a friend’s post on Facebook about people sitting in their truck and shooting outside her house] that HUNTING SEASON has begun and WE WERE NOT WEARING OUR FASHIONABLY STYLISH BLAZE ORANGE OUTFITS when we were on the loose in the park!

I guess midday on the first day of the season isn’t a dangerous time to be out without orange – although it could be especially hazardous for a large golden dog who just might be mistaken for a small deer. And I am prepared this year, having stopped at Reny’s in Belfast to buy Max a new orange vest since he outgrew last year’s model. I just wasn’t prepared for NOVEMBER hunting season to start on October 22nd…

DISCLAIMER: In an effort to be a good doo-be journalist, I just looked up Maine’s Deer Hunting Season dates for 2011, and discovered that today is Youth Only Hunting day, and the season actually starts on October 29th.

So, it’s with a sigh of relief that I look forward to the next six days of relative freedom before all of us non-hunters have to don our ever-so-fashionable November Orange just to go out to the car and back – let alone venture off the road into the woods [NEVER in NOVEMBER!] or fields…

By the way, I did find that other letterbox. And I’m not saying where. If you want to see it, you’ll just have to sleuth it out for yourself.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in at home in Deer Isle Maine, Deer Isle Maine, Maine, playing with a poodle, Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Color of the season…

  1. Brenda says:

    Your last post is a beautiful description of your and Max’s life on Deer Isle. Wonderfully well written. And always a story behind it all. Gorgeous.

    I look forward to the next post. I wish Gabi and I could walk with you and Max, but alas Gabi now drags her back legs–although I have wheels for her, which I’d love to show you sometime.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      thank you Brenda. I’m sorry to hear about Gabi’s back legs. If you think she’d be OK with a bounding youngster, I’d love to have you join us sometime. I’m guessing that Mariner’s Park would work for her wheels.

Leave a Reply

