Just another rainy Sunday…


I can’t believe it’s been so long since I posted here – especially when I think back to our trip and realize that I wrote almost every day for four months! My last post was at the Summer Solstice in June…

Since then, Max and I have settled back into life here on Deer Isle. Our days consist of eating, sleeping, playing, barking at noises, going to the park, the quarry, or the low tide beach, and occasionally going to play with Looley and Hershey – our canine friends in Stonington.

Max, ready to pounce on his favorite ball. Mariner’s Park is one of our favorite places to run free here on Deer Isle. Today, it was misty when we started, but soon changed to rain – and we had to head back home.

Okay, that’s how Max’s days usually pan out…

I do some of those things, too. And I also do things like web design and maintenance, graphic design, reading, visiting friends, going to the movies… and my most pressing thing of all right now – make jewelry. I’m exhibiting and selling at The Gifted Hand Show – a juried fine crafts show next month, and I really need to build up inventory.

It’s hard to resist those flying ears and doggy grin! I try to get out with Max every day – regardless of the weather.

So, my days are full of things like taking Max out for exercise, feeding him (and myself), practicing cello, reading, cooking and eating, and … MAKING JEWELRY! In the past few days, I’ve made 30 pairs of earrings. Right now, I am working with silver Precious Metal Clay (PMC) – an amazing medium that can be worked just like any other clay (but on a smaller scale). It can be rolled, stamped, textured, carved, molded – just about anything you can think of to create something beautiful. It can be pieced together using PMC slip. Once you are happy with it, you let it dry, then fire it in a special small kiln. The organic binder burns away, leaving you with a fine silver piece of jewelry.

Here’s a piece I made after being inspired by a gorgeous deep orange quarter moon hanging low above a cove here one Friday night in September:

photo of fine silver pendant

This pendant measures about 2"in diameter. Hollow formed fine silver, with 22k gold embellishment.

The following pieces are all fine silver, and all waiting for new homes!

This hollow formed pendant was stamped using a rubber stamp with beautiful script. Oxidized fine silver.

These earrings are approx. 1/2" square, and have been stamped with script using a rubber stamp. Fine silver.

"Sea Urchin" earrings of oxidized fine silver, approx. 1/2" diameter.

So, today was a productive day in the studio, Max and I got out for some fresh air and a run, and I am one day closer to my first ever craft show…

“If I drop it, will you throw it again?”

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Deer Isle Maine, Maine, playing with a poodle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just another rainy Sunday…

  1. Gandalf says:

    This is really lovely work, Mo. Congratulations!
    And you did it all on my 75th birthday. Good for you, girl.

    Now, what about an equally lovely ginger martini invitation . . . you know . . . sometime before the year ends . . .

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Well, Happy 75th my friend! OK already. Ginger Martinis, potluck dinner before the end of the year! Sooner, rather than later let’s scheme.

  2. Marilyn Wheeler says:

    It’s great to hear from you once again.
    One piece (or two, or more) you’ve made, looking lovely on Buddha, is the necklace with washers and wire. I have the materials but could never fashion something so beautiful!
    Gifted Hand, hmm…

    • Maureen Farr says:

      thanks Marilyn. Something just compelled me today to go back to the blog maybe I’ll see you at the gifted hand show???

  3. beautiful~! and suggestion: add metatags for your handcrafted jewlery 🙂

Leave a Reply

