Summer Solstice… dog romp… memories…


Summer solstice – longest day of the year. Here in Maine it was absolutely glorious. Dry, sunny, a little breeze to keep the bugs away… Tuesdays are the day when the Quill’s End Farm truck comes to Deer Isle to deliver everything from fresh, local, raw milk, hot from the wood-fired oven breads and sourdough croissants, to local meats. Max and I me Phil at the truck at 11 AM only to learn that our croissants hadn’t been made today. Every week, I swear that I will not order more croissants next week, but they are oh-so-good… This week, fate stepped in and I didn’t get them.

After picking up our fresh milk, and an order of meat for a friend, Max and I went to Marriners’ Park for a little romp and some ball playing, in the midday sun. Needless to say, it was marvelous. I love watching his total body excitement as he runs for the ball; finding it in the tall grass by the edge of the gravel road, tail madly wagging, then happily emerging, ball in mouth, to trot back to me for another round. And so it goes for a half hour or 45 minutes, then we are off to home so I can put away the perishables and do a little work.

This afternoon, we headed out to Cape Rosier to see Anna, Rufus’ daughter, who is spending a couple of days at his cabin. For those who don’t know the history, Rufus and I were in a loving relationship for 13 years – ending when he died very unexpectedly and accidentally in June 2008. Anna and I are close – she’s like another daughter in my book.

After going to Eliot Coleman’s Four Season Farm farmstand for fresh veggies, we turned up the drive to see Anna…

For the next three hours, Max had THE BEST TIME, romping around the field, leaping up on the deck, racing to the pond for a drink and a bit of a wade, back around the field, onto the deck… etc. etc. while Anna and I visited.

Of course, I forgot to bring my trusty iPhone (because it doesn’t have a signal at my house, I tend to “forget” it on a regular basis!) so there are no pictures to document this “trip.”

And now, at 7PM on the longest day of the year, I am missing Rufus – who might have brought a Solstice supper for us to share in Biramisu, our sweet little red rowing boat, out on Northwest Harbor as the sun ever-so-slowly sank in the west.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Deer Isle Maine, Friends along the way, Maine, Puppy antics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Summer Solstice… dog romp… memories…

  1. Deborah Brewster says:

    Lovely! Thank you.

  2. Ah, life with its sad-happy memories.
    I’m enjoying your long post on this summer solstice. What glorious weather we’ve been having!
    A little while ago I was wandering through your trek, looking for the name of the Web site that was so helpful in finding the most wonderful places along your journey. Haven’t found it – yet.
    Yes – thank you!

  3. hank says:

    how’s anna? sorry bout the missing. you guys! an amazing pair
    happy solstice. a perfect summer day

  4. Lori says:

    Oh, Dear Mo. It’s hard…

  5. Sounds like a great, albeit bittersweet day, Mom–I can imagine missing Rufino, especially out at the cabin and on Midsummer’s Eve–glad you had a good visit with Anna though–love, Cin

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Cindy, being out there was the easiest visit in three years. it was only later, as I was thinking about and preparing dinner that I felt that old tug at my heart…

  6. Ellie Adams says:

    Thanks for your post and sharing the the sad but sweet memories the day brought to you. You had mentioned Rufus several times in your postings and I understood that he was someone close to you. Our lives are certainly full of twists and turns that inpact us deeply. Keep enjoying our lovely Maine summer. Hi to Max!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Ellie, without the twists and turns, what would we do? they make our lives so much more interesting – the good and the bad turns… Max was exhausted last night from all his running, jumping, and exploring. And to you – enjoy this Maine summer as well!

  7. sarah doremus says:

    Dear Mo, What a lovely image. Memory such a wonderful ability yet so beautiful and bittersweet. hugs sarah

Leave a Reply

