Ginger martinis (at home)…


If you Google “Recipe for Ginger Martinis” my blog post from February 27, 2011 comes up as #8 on the first page. I know because I checked to see what I should serve tomorrow night when four of my friends come over for cocktails.

I tried to “wing it” tonight, and while I am flying high, it’s not the same recipe that I handed out two months and five days ago. So, I need to go to the store and get some fresh limes. Tomorrow

Tonight’s concoction tasted remarkably excellent – and had the same effect as that pitcher of ginger martinis in Portland, Oregon – but I need to refine it just a bit before tomorrow’s “cocktail hour.” I’m really hoping that the weather and those pesky black flies we might encounter (it is May in Maine after all!) will hold off so we can sip on the back deck. If not, there’s the living room…

Max will provide the necessary hilarity…

I called the Whale’s Rib to make a reservation for dinner and learned that we can’t get in until at least 7:45 so I am planning a stealth burger-grilling event here at my house for the four of us. We might just try to get into the lounge at Whale’s Rib, but if no one wants to move after a pitcher of Gingertinis, I will be ready to grill.

This whole evening came about because one of my friends posted on Facebook about poppies being “shameless.” The next thing I knew (and we are talking almost milliseconds here!) Ginger Martinis were mentioned. Well, I HAD to rise to that one/ So, I offered that I could do the Gingertinis but I didn’t have any poppies.

Soon, the poppies were “to come,” and an event was in the making. Another friend, who unfortunately can’t make the Martini party, said she would bring the “shameless.”

I guess, once the recipe is perfected – and tested (read: tomorrow night)– there will need to be a followup party…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in at home in Deer Isle Maine, Deer Isle Maine, Friends along the way, Maine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ginger martinis (at home)…

  1. Marilyn Wheeler says:

    Ah – the Ginger Martini Effect. (Try reading your blog again in the morning!) :^0

  2. There is definitely need of a followup party and I am adding my name to that list! Enjoy tomorrow’s fun!

  3. hank says:

    yay for follow-up partay

  4. lol! So, where is the follow up post to the Gingertini party? Or are you all still recovering from said party? 🙂 Hope it was a gingery blast! xoxo C

Leave a Reply

