Max’s personal dog park…


We live on a very busy street here in Deer Isle. I sometimes call it the Deer Isle Speedway because of the way people drive past my house. It’s a 25 mph zone; people fly by going 40 or 50 and I’ve even seen one car (or pickup truck) pass another on the way downhill to the village. Needless to say, I cannot let Max loose without a fence…

I could totally jump from here…

So, yesterday, my friend Hank came over and we installed a four-foot high wire fence around the back garden (I use the term “we” loosely since he did most of it). Max watched from the safety (translate confinement) of the back deck as we worked rolling out the fence between posts.

On my way to Portland the other day, I stopped at one of my favorite salvage places in Searsport, where I found an old iron bed frame to use for the gate. Since we got the fence in, I’ve propped it against two metal fence posts as a temporary barrier and it’s working very well at keeping one big dog inside the fence! Max, for all his size, is a fraidy cat when it comes to things like that gate that might – just maybe – fall over and make a big noise.

The “temporary” gate has worked fine to keep Max in the “safe zone.”

I love the way it looks – it’s pretty delicate for a gate and I like that you can look right through it to the yard and the back steps. My original idea for a wood gate would have been lovely, but this one just really makes me smile. Plus, I love reusing old things (in my art and my life!).

Today, I took it over to my friend Eric’s house to see if he could make hinges on one side and a latch on the other. He’s a great blacksmith/artist, and I figured he could do something simple yet creative. (Which he did!) You can check out his work on his website.

When I went over to pick it up, he had fabricated a sweet latch that should make it easy to go through the gate, but also easy to close and latch. And, true to form, he was creative – making the latch heart-shaped!

Here’s a closeup of that sweet latch that Eric made for our gate.

Max is really happy to have this enclosed space. He’s out there right now patrolling for squirrels – something I won’t complain about!

How come YOU get to be out there and I have to be in here??

He’s happy. I’m happy. What more can I say? A big Thank You to Hank for installing the fence would be nice… And another to Eric for the hardware…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in at home in Deer Isle Maine, Maine, Puppy antics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Max’s personal dog park…

  1. Nice!!!! That gate totally goes with your style, I agree–it looks perfect and the latch is really awesome too. Loved the cute pics of the Maxinator! Love, Cin

  2. Marilyn Wheeler says:

    Look at that!! Elegant gate, happy and secure dog.

  3. Brenda says:

    I can’t wait to meet Max. He is gorgeous, charming, adorable! I could go on and on . . . And the gate and latch are wonderful. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

