It’s still raining…


I’ve been pretty busy this past week with work so I haven’t minded too much that it has been rainy, foggy, or misty every day. Now that I’m feeling a little “caught up” on the work front, I am feeling guilty about not getting out enough with Max…

Can’t win, right? Rain, work, no play makes for a dull life. Actually, I’ve taken him out just about every day to play – with one really rainy day that kept us inside. But still.

Today, even though it’s STILL not sunny – and in spite of the weather forecaster saying it could be – we went over to Marriner’s Park for some ball playing. I needed a break from a frustrating morning at the computer trying to create a slide show for a website with no success (so far). Max needed a break from being “office dog.”

So, we threw and fetched, threw and fetched, threw and… didn’t return it. Tired pup laid in the grass, panting around the ball in his mouth. The other day, when it was time to get in the car, he absolutely refused to come. I didn’t want a repeat of bad behavior, so I went over to a bench and sat. Not wanting to be left out of anything, he came over and laid at my feet. (eureka!) I clipped the leash onto his collar, let him rest a while longer, then simply got up and said, “Okay! Let’s go!” Okay, we did…

Last Saturday, (okay, now I remember! we DID have a pretty nice day during the past week!) Last Saturday, my friend, Hank, came over to start work on a new gate for the soon-to-be-fenced back garden. Being the eternal optimist, I had visions of building a gate, setting gateposts, and installing the dog fencing. While Hank dug the post holes, cut the 4x4s to length, and set them in concrete, I weeded the perennial beds under the peach tree, and by the south wall of the house. Max supervised from the porch – where a simple baby gate stretched between two tall stumps keeps him safe.

The posts are in and look great! Rummaging around in the cellar today,I found a stash of nice live edge cedar boards for the gate. Right now, there’s a simple arbor covered with a climbing rose on one side and a climbing hydrangea on the other, and an old granite step that leads from the parking area to the path to the back steps. The gate will go inside the arbor. Here’s a little sketch of how I see the new gate:
sketch of the new gate

If all goes well, we’ll get the gate built next Saturday. When the gate is finished, I’ll post pictures…

And who knows? Maybe the optimist will win out and we’ll get the fence up too! Of course, between now and then, it would be really nice if my lawn guy would show up and hack down the almost-knee-high grass (anyone know a farmer who wants to get a bale of hay by mowing my back lawn??)

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in at home in Deer Isle Maine, Maine, Puppy antics, Random thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s still raining…

  1. Guy Oliver says:

    Maureen
    It is your descriptive writing that reaches my lonely and tired old body and I have learned to love Max. Crazy as it may sound I am thinking about getting my own “Max”
    Guy

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Guy, it doesn’t sound crazy at all to me. Max has filled a deep place in my heart and I wouldn’t trade that for anything. He’s a great companion, filling the quiet spots with his exuberance, and keeping me going. Let me know if yuo do get your own Max!

  2. Yup, it’s grass-growing weather. I finally got to mow; the long wet grass chokes up the blade housing, and it looks about as bad as before, only different – like a very bad haircut.
    That’s a sweet gate you’re planning. Let’s hope the sun comes back soon so we can enjoy working outside.

Leave a Reply

