15,168 miles…


…door to door. When we left Deer Isle on January 1st, the odometer read 52,839. When we returned yesterday – four months to the day – it read 68,007.

We were greeted at the start of the causeway from Little Deer Isle to Deer Isle with a big WELCOME BACK sign from our friends:

My friend, Sarah, made this great welcome back sign – the word part is over five feet long to give yo a sense of scale. Thanks to her, and to Hank and Lori for putting it up. It was a touching affirmation of the loving friends I have here on the island. Sorry Silver City. I think I’ll stay here!

On the way up from Portland, I stopped to see my son, PJ, and daughter-in-law, Julie. It was wonderful to see them, share a delicious lunch of hamburgers cooked on the grill, Julie’s great potato salad, and stories. They have chickens in a backyard pen and Max was beside himself trying to figure out how to get at those birds. He went from one side of the pen to the other as the hens dashed back and forth to get away from him. Soon, he was running in circles around and around the pen – making me feel dizzy just watching!

After a lovely visit, Max and I headed on home. It was a beautiful spring day for our return – I was grateful that we came back when we did and not a week ago when it was raining.

A short stop in Blue Hill for groceries, and we were driving on familiar roads towards our island…

Almost there… approaching the half mile long suspension bridge from the mainland to Deer Isle.

The first big bloomers – these forsythia greeted us at the top of the hill from the causeway.

Approaching the causeway bridge on our street…

Home sweet home… everything looks good!

I always love coming home at this time of day. I love the sight of the long shadows, the soft light, and in this case blooming plants – definite harbingers of spring!

Now I have to confess that I did NOT notice the welcome back sign as I drove onto the causeway… I was distracted by the sight of a new cell phone tower off to my right. About five minutes after we returned home, my friend Hank came by to turn up the heat before our return (he had the time right – we were a little earlier than expected).

“Did you see the sign at the causeway?” he asked. What sign? No… h-m-m-m-m! I guess I better go back and get a picture!

So, after unloading groceries and a few other things, Max and I got back in the car (Aw! Do I have to?? Haven’t I been in there enough already?) and drove back to see the sign. Following that, we stopped at Lori’s for a visit with her and Hank, some quality ball playing time for Max in her big fenced back yard, and a glass of cheer…

A joyful Max running around my friend Lori’s back yard.

See? I can too sit still…

When I was finally home… Home. We did it, Max! We had an epic, EPIC journey, and we are HOME. I cried. As much with joy as sadness. It’s bittersweet being back. My house was warm, clean, bright, and sunny. Welcoming. My friend, Birgit, who spent some time here over the winter months, had left a beautiful pot of blooming daffodils, with a sweet note welcoming us home. She ended it with “Welcome home Wanderer Woman and Wonder Dog!” which was part of what undid me – and still does.

I am so grateful for every one of those 15,168 miles that Tumbleweed carried us, for the places we saw, for the people, and dogs we met, for everyone who traveled with us through the blog, and most especially to my intrepid traveling companion, Max. I never would have gone so far or for so long without him by my side.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Friends along the way, Maine, On the Road, Puppy antics, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 15,168 miles…

  1. Love the welcome back sign! You lucky girl 🙂

  2. Brenda says:

    WELCOME HOME, MAX AND MO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a fabulous log of your trip! I’ve enjoyed it tremendously. Wonderful writing, great humor, terrific pictures. A book, OF COURSE! So glad you’re both back safe and sound. Gabi is dying to meet Max. Brenda

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks Brenda! Max would love to meet Gabi. He’s quite the social animal!! We both look forward to seeing you and Gabi.

  3. Cici Eberle says:

    Welcome back and thank you so much for sharing your journey with us……….; )

  4. Lynne Magee says:

    Wonderful! Relax…breathe…

  5. sarah doremus says:

    Yes, Welcome home, can’t wait to see you. And to give credit the signs were lori’s idea and I made and she hung. We had fun doing and are so happy you two are back!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      thanks Sarah! I love the signs. they are sitting on my back porch, waiting for me to figure out their next stop! come by anytime my car is here. would love to see you. looking forward to seeing your new digs too!

  6. Lori C. says:

    Yes, Momo. We heart you… welcome home! LC

  7. hank says:

    you gotta include the renta-miles, too, don’tcha? prolly another few hunnert, anyway…

    good to have you guys back!! btw, sarah, GREAT signs!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Hank, I thought about those renta-miles, but decided NOT to include them only because they were a damn ole detour! they would add about another 1,170 miles [Amarillo to Silver City one way is 522 miles; so double that plus maybe another 125 or so] getting good to be beack. got all the “stuff” out of the car this afternoon!

  8. Caroline King says:

    I am glad you are home safe and sound, but I would admit that I will miss seeing your daily updates. We all lived your adventure with you!

    Thank you for bringing the spring to Maine.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      thanks Caroline. I’m probably going to continue to blog – not daily, but periodically. I may start a new one for the Tumbleweeds at Home!

  9. Ellie Adams says:

    Welcome Home!! Silver City was nice, but…. Thanks for taking us all on your wonderful trip with you. It was a wonderful diversion during the long winter. And…Thanks for bringing spring with you! Hugs for Max! Stay well!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      thanks Ellie! I’m glad to be back – and agree that Silver City was nice, but Theres no place like home. Theres no place like home but there were a lot of diversions!

  10. Evelyn Hannah says:

    Welcome home you two world travelers !! And what a wonderful place to return to. I love Maine, being a New England girl originallywhenve I see pictures of the rocky coast it gives me warm fuzzies!
    So thankful for your safe jouney and any time your around New Orleans again Look up Bree and me !
    Evelyn and Bree

Leave a Reply

