Tumbleweeds at rest…


Max is sleeping by my side, Tumbleweed is parked on the street, the rest of us just had a fabulous dinner. Cindy made veggie burgers from leftover Ethiopian Chickpea Stew, roasted broccoli, and salad. The broccoli and salad were NOT part of the veggie burgers! I provided wine and stories…

Today was cloudy with occasional rain showers, but Cindy and I took Max to his old favorite dog park for a little romp this afternoon. There was a woman there who is a dog walker – she had 10 dogs plus her own little chihuahua! A couple of bigger dogs came along and played with Max for a while before we packed it in so he could catch his breath before going to the vet for his annual checkup.

Okay, all you folks who have thought he was underweight – you were right. Since we left in early January, Max lost three pounds. I was shocked – I tell you! – shocked. He went from 54 to 51 pounds. I knew he was a little skinny, but…

I really think it’s the food he’s been getting. Although it’s a high quality food – it’s freeze-dried vegs and turkey – I don’t think it has enough of whatever he needs. When we were at home, he was eating a raw food that I bought frozen – seemed perfectly balanced between meat, bone, vegs, and fat – and he was thriving. It could also just be the accumulated stress of being on the road for four months.

So the Rx is this: a little more food, more carbs, and let’s see if we can get a little weight on the boy. Other than that, he’s in great physical condition, flexible, good teeth, good heart and lungs. An overall happy boy. As one of the other docs said, “that is one animated dog!”

After seeing the vet, we went to the Department of Motor Vehicles to see if we could get TMBLWD license plates. Seems I have to go to the local town office to register first, then apply for the plates. Unfortunately, somebody else has TMBLWD. Can you believe there’s somebody [else] in MAINE who wanted that plate???

I think I’m going to go for TMBLWD3 since there were the three of us after all.

Maya and Cindy are practicing spelling – Maya has a test tomorrow. I’m thinking of soaking my feet and getting to bed early…

…another trip to Scratch may be in order too.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Eating out on a road trip, Maine, Musings, On the Road, Portland, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tumbleweeds at rest…

  1. guy oliver says:

    So glad you are with Cindy and family, as you know Cindy is my number one friend on the internet, truly amazing girl and following you, I see where she gets it.GUY

  2. Cheers for a great blog! Ellie and I often discuss your adventures as if you were an old friend.
    Did you check other versions of the Maine registration plate? There’s a Web site (motor vehicles?) where you can try out your preferred lettering – and find out if it’s already taken.
    Welcome back to Maine. It’s been a wonderful trip.

  3. Evelyn Hannah says:

    What a wonderful journey and all the wonderful people and doggies you became friends with along the way ! I feel like I made a friend through your blogs and feel privledged to have met you both down here in th Big Easy. Welcome home !!
    Evelyn and Bree Hannah

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Evelyn, that is so true. we met a lot of wonderful people and dogs – you and Bree included! I’m glad we met. that little dog park was pretty special.

  4. jane says:

    Hi Maureen.

    I have also enjoyed your posts. I have a friend who would like to meet you when you are back on Deer Isle. She has a poodle who would love to meet Max. Email me or call? best, Jane

Leave a Reply

