Charlottesville, Monday morning…


Breakfast at La Taza – a nice little place with a great outdoor patio. Max was welcome, service was good, temperature was a cool 70 degrees. I had my first bacon, eggs, and toast breakfast since Portland, OR. I’ve been noticing that I tell time by where rather than days or dates. For example, Max got his haircut in Santa Fe (when was that anyway??), I got mine cut in Amarillo… and so it goes.

All too soon, we will be back on our little rock off the coast of Maine, telling time the usual way (Monday, Tuesday, etc. 9 AM, noon, 5 o’clock…) and wishing we still weren’t sure what day it is or where we were last week!

After breakfast, we walked around C-ville’s downtown mall – which I looked up on Wikipedia for a little background. It felt like it’s been there for some time since the trees that line the center in a double row are very mature. Turns out it has been there for a long time.

According to Wiki:
“The Downtown Mall in Charlottesville, Virginia is one of the longest pedestrian malls in the United States. Located on Main Street, it runs from 6th St. N.E. to Old Preston Ave., where it extends to Water St., for a total length of eight blocks. It is laid with brick and concrete, and home to an array of restaurants, shops, offices and art galleries. On Fridays in the spring, summer and fall, the Downtown Mall is host to Fridays After 5, a weekly concert series. Several side streets are also paved in brick and likewise closed to traffic.

“On the east, the Mall ends at the Charlottesville Pavilion, an outdoor concert venue, while the west end of the Mall features an Omni Hotel and a recently defunct indoor ice skating rink. It is also home to the newly renovated Paramount Theater and the historic Jefferson Theater.

Charlottesville Pavilion. photo courtesy Wikipedia.

“In 1976, East Main Street was converted into a pedestrian mall. In 2007, Charlottesville planned a comprehensive rehabilitation and renovation of the Downtown Mall. Construction on the Mall Renovation began on Sunday, January 7th, 2009 and was completed that summer.”

It is a marvelous outdoor space – and one that many cities could use as a model for the revitalization of their own downtown areas. Max and I had a lovely shady stroll from 2nd Street to the Pavilion and back. Along the way, we ran into another red poodle – Maggie was walking with her people Bruce and Barbara (from Pittsburgh) and the two dogs instantly hit it off. Max has this new thing where he gives other dogs “kisses,” licking their muzzles in greeting.

Barbara noticed, and commented that Maggie does the same thing! Maybe it’s a poodle thing… I’d love to know.

So, where’s a picture of the two poodles together? Don’t ask! Sometimes I wonder about my journalism skills. I had that trusty iPhone right there in my hand the whole time… and never thought to take a picture… until I was about 100 miles away on the interstate!

This “dress” was in a gallery window – and appears to be made of pages from a book, sewn together with copper wire. Unfortunately, the gallery wasn’t open and there was no tag to explain the media or give title and artist’s name…

Max wouldn’t jump up onto this butterfly chair…

This majestic, larger than life statue of Robert E. Lee was in a beautiful little park next to the library in Charlottesville. I don’t think I ever knew that his middle name was Edward.

After that, it was a long ride in the car to get to Newark, Delaware for our overnight stop – mostly on busy interstates (especially I-95 for the last leg). Plus, we are back in the land of the toll road – a grand total of ELEVEN DOLLARS today!

Tonight, we went to Petco and got a new harness, more doggy treats, some rawhide chews, and an impulse purchase at the register of a new tug toy… Sometimes it’s like having a little child in tow. “Okay, you can get one pack of gum…” Or in Max’s case, one toy!

Tomorrow, we might go out to Longwood Gardens, which is only about 12 miles from here, before hitting the road for Milford, CT – our last motel night of the journey before arriving at Cindy, Jon, and Maya’s house in Portland on Wednesday… Depends on how early we get started, what time the Gardens open, and the weather. Just thinking of the unrelenting traffic on I-95 makes me think we should reward ourselves with beauty beforehand.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Eating out on a road trip, Musings, On the Road, Puppy antics, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle, Virginia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Charlottesville, Monday morning…

  1. Lori says:

    You’re getting closer…. hope the last leg of the journey is a good one. See you soon! L

  2. Gandalf says:

    “. . .and wishing we still weren’t sure what day it is or where we were last week!”

    Whixh ish precisely why you’re comin back to teash ush about ginger martinis . . .

  3. Gandalf says:

    P.S.: Of course, Max wouldn’t jump up onto the butterfly chair: A. He’s very well trained, right? and B. I don’t know any self-respecting dog that will walk on what looks like grating. Hogie taught me that in New York City when he’d insistently tug me away from the vent grates and then reminds me again every time we walk down the ramp to the Vinalhaven ferry.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Too true Hendrik! Max goes around every sidewalk grate – and would not walk across a grate footbridge when we were in Silver City. He is well -trained, and one of his commands is “jump up!’ – which he will usually do. I sort of suspected he wouldn’t go for the chair, but tried anyway!

      I expect to be back on the rock this weekend (probably Sunday). ginger martinis to follow!

  4. June Kellogg says:

    Hi Maureen,
    Because you’re nearing home, I just want to say thank you for sharing your journey!
    Having spent the entire winter in Maine this year, reading your blog in the morning brightened my day and gave me the feeling that I was traveling, even if it was only in virtual reality.
    Have a great time at Longwood Gardens. I spent many days there when I lived in Philadelphia and needed a place to go to get closer to nature. Another great botanical garden is the one in Boothbay. If you haven’t been there, it’s definitely worth the detour off 295, but I don’t know if it’s open for the season yet or if it’s dog friendly.
    Have a safe journey home. Hugs to Max, June

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks June for this nice note. I’m feeling a little melancholy as I approach “the end” of the journey, and your note made me smile. I’m glad you were along for the ride, and enjoyed it. Knowing I had all of you folks “riding along” not only got me over some of the bumps in the road, but also spurred me to keep up with writing on the blog every day!

Leave a Reply

