Savannah… day two – Bonaventure Cemetery


Savannah, Wednesday April 20
We had such a fine day yesterday in Savannah, that I decided to stay over one more night and do a little sightseeing on our own. After breakfast today, we headed out for Starbucks and Bonaventure Cemetery – the most famous of Savannah’s final resting places.

It was one of the major locales in the 1994 book Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt – with its Bird Girl statue featured on the book’s cover.

She has been removed from the cemetery and resides in one of the downtown museums, but I wanted to see the whole cemetery and didn’t really mind that she’s not there any more.

What a beautiful serene place to spend eternity… that is, if you want to be put in a box underground. The cemetery streets are lined with live oaks, dripping with Spanish moss. Birds flit and sing, perfume of flowering trees or shrubs waft by, and the whole place is hushed and peaceful.

Johnny Mercer, and Conrad Aiken are two of the more notable folks buried here, and I was determined to find their graves. In the process, we saw some other interesting graves…

Isn’t she sweet?

Look at that Spanish moss hanging down…

After driving around for a while, we just stumbled across Conrad Aiken’s gravesite. I love the inscription: “Cosmos Mariner Destination unknown.”

And after more wandering, we finally found Johnny Mercer’s family plot:

By now, it was lunchtime, so I decided to take us downtown to the riverfront again. We left Tumbleweed safely in the parking garage, and went across to the Rocks on the River restaurant at the new Bohemian Hotel. It was cool and shady, with a nice view across at the World War Two Memorial and the river, and Max was (mostly) content to lie at my feet while I had a marvelous Caesar Salad, Pinot Grigio, and She Crab Soup, followed by funnel cake for dessert – something I’ve never experienced and would highly recommend! I took a photo of lunch, but was so overcome by the sight of the dessert that I completely forgot to snap a photo…

I wasn’t sure what this was, but after lunch discovered it is a World War Two Memorial.

I thought this was a beautiful tribute to the men and women from Savannah who gave their lives in WWII.

Lunch… yum… ’nuff said…

Driving back to our hotel on Abercorn Street – typical of the streets in town, it is overhung with live oaks, dripping Spanish moss. The green house on the right is the Extreme Makeover House that our shuttle bus driver, Janice, talked about yesterday.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Eating out on a road trip, Savannah, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Savannah… day two – Bonaventure Cemetery

  1. Steve Murray says:

    Hi Maureen:
    Pleased to hear that you found Savannah the diagional opposite of Memphis, Max-friendly and very much to your liking; have been there for a few short stays but you really make me want to explore it. Enjoy your trip North away from the heat – it is getting quite warm down this way.
    Steve Murray

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Yep, it really was the opposite of Memphis. I’d highly recommend exploring it more. Heading out in the morning…

  2. hank says:

    johnny mercer. wow. thanks for that.

    but pissed there’s no funnel cake photo. wtf?

    (where’s the funnel?)

    • Maureen Farr says:

      H– I KNOW! I can’t believe I didn’t get a pic. But, you’d be amazed at the number of things I’ve FORGOTTEN to take pix of that I never mentioned! I think the way it’s made is that the batter is poured through a funnel into deep fat. Fried crisp and golden, but soft and tender inside. Like little squiggles of cake…

      Johnny Mercer – yeah!

Leave a Reply

