The Tumbleweeds are rolling…


This morning, I loaded up Tumbleweed, got Max into his crate, and headed for the nearby Starbucks (back to our old routine??) before leaving Amarillo. I was in Starbucks for less than 10 minutes, and when I turned the key, Tumbleweed did NOT respond…

How embarrassing! After al that fuss yesterday, I left the lights on again! But TEN minutes? Shouldn’t my battery be able to handle ten minutes???

I called Drury, and Doug said he’d send someone right over with their portable charger and get me going. Ten minutes later, Doug showed up, jump-started the car, then suggested I go and get the battery tested before hitting the road. Good advice – turns out the battery was going bad. I bought a new one, and feel pretty confident that all possibilities have been covered.

We were on the road by 10:45, heading east on a sunny and very windy I-40. I have to say that it felt great to be back in Tumbleweed, on the road, heading for home… Interestingly, the young woman who helped me with the battery purchase thought Tumbleweed was a 2010 model! That’s how good he looks! Thanks Doug and crew!!

We stopped in Shamrock, Texas to get gas and lunch. The main drag was another of those forgettable western “Historic Route 66” towns that might have been something back in the day. But, the highlight of the day was the Conoco Tower:

Imagine when you could drive up to the pumps and fill up for about a buck, then go next door to the café for lunch!

This plaque is pretty self-explanatory… and gives a good description of how this place came to be.

If I pay for the gas, can I drive for a while??

After playing around at Conoco Tower, we got back on I-40 East on our way to Oklahoma City for the night. As we approached OKC, I was keeping a close eye on the sky – a line of towering thunderheads looked pretty innocuous, but I knew from last night’s weather report that we were actually heading towards some potentially severe weather (thunderstorms, big hail, tornadoes).

While these may not look so towering, they are probably 30,000+ feet high. That big sky can be deceiving…

So, here we are – in Del City, OK, just 5 miles east of Oklahoma City – on the dry side of the severe weather! I’ve been watching the weather on all the local TV stations, and the severe stuff is well to our east. Tornadoes have touched down in some areas, 4-inch hail is predicted, and a tornado watch is in effect until 10 PM tonight. Fortunately for the tumbleweed family, we are well to the west of any danger.

Max had a couple of lovely walks and rolls in the grass this afternoon. Unfortunately, it had a lot of dry grass in it, and he’s gotten a bunch of “straw” in his fur. So, I’ve given him a couple of brushings (which he HATES!) and gotten most of it out. He’s resting on the bed – for some reason, he doesn’t really sleep in the car when we travel. Maybe he’s one of those back seat drivers who has to watch the road so we don’t get into trouble?!

So, our first day back on the road was a success. We drove our usual 4-1/2 hours that takes us more like almost six! (we stop a lot)

The other day, on our way from Santa Fe to Albuquerque, I saw this sign by the side of the road and went back to get a photo:

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Oklahoma, On the Road, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Tumbleweeds are rolling…

  1. Steve Murray says:

    My sister over near Tulsa (Mounds) said they had some pretty strong storms this afternoon, no damage to or near them. Glad you got the battery thing squared away. We were in Venice Florida today for lunch with two Maine couples with whom we have been friends for years. They will be headed North soon; we will remain in FL most of the summer pending birth of a grandchild due here in late July. Watch the storms, don’t let the hail pockmark Tumbleweed’s new paint job!
    Steve

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Steve, I’ve been watching the weather updates all evening. Some areas are getting hard hit. Glad your sister and family is OK. Just turned off the TV – can’t take any more!!

      Too bad to be spending most of the summer in FL, but great news about the grandchild! THAT makes the stay worth it without question.

      I’m keeping a close eye on Tumbleweed – no hailstones for that boy!

      • Lynne Magee says:

        Glad you used caution and stayed west of the storms. We got some hail – dime-sized – but, as far as we can tell, no damage except the buds about to open on the rosebushes. I thought I saw the Wicked Witch of the West’s bicycle go by in some of Channel 6’s sky shots, but my husband said it was part of the helicopter! Stay safe in Oklahoma and the remainder of the trip!

      • Maureen Farr says:

        Lynne, glad you were all safe – and sorry about the roses We will be safe. Now that I’m back on the road, I check weather every day to see what’s ahead of us.

  2. Oh Max you are SO cute! I just want to send you big hugs for being my “online defender”! (Inside Joke, y’all!) Glad you’re safe and dry and un-hailed–but gawd, what battery woes you’ve had! Glad you got a new one! love ya, Cin

  3. Diana Richardson says:

    Hurrah!! Tumbleweed looks handsome, indeed. Happy Trails to you 3 from Homegirl, Pusha and Jim.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Woo-Hoo! Its my Homegirl! Hows the weather up there in your neck o the woods? Seems like every time I see a weather report its RAINING

Leave a Reply

