Tumbleweed is back on the road…


…and already, I managed to drain the battery! I’ve been spoiled by the rental car for three weeks – automatic lights-off should be standard on ALL cars. Tumbleweed doesn’t have ’em, and I went to the dog park, left the lights on for a half hour, and the dang car wouldn’t start! Thanks to AAA for sending someone out to give me a jump-start…

BUT, back to Tumbleweed being back on the road… I cannot say enough good things about the guys at Drury Auto Body Shop! Doug was so helpful, considerate, and great at keeping me up to date on progress these last few weeks, that it made the whole process that much easier. This morning, after telling me that they wanted to drive it around for a while to make sure everything was OK, he sent me these photos of Tumbleweed back in the sun:

He sure doesn’t look like the same fella that limped onto the tow truck three weeks ago, does he? He’s got his game face on! He’s loaded up (mostly) and ready to GO!

I am so thrilled with the work they did – I swear Tumbleweed looks better than when I bought him a year ago! Turns out the damage was more extensive than it looked – when all is said and done, the repair bill is over $12,000. If that had been the appraisal after the crash, TW would have been totaled. So I’m glad that he got his fixes, and looks brand spanking new. These guys even cleaned the inside! (I think I mentioned that yesterday, but it doesn’t hurt to say it again…)

I’ve written two reviews and posted them on yelp.com and also on Google. Remember, Google is my friend… Yelp, too. Not to mention that handy little iPhone app: Around Me. Between those three friends, I’ve been able to find a lot of helpful stuff on the road. So far, the very best was Drury!

Max was pretty happy to hop right up in the front seat when I opened the door to look inside this morning. Later, he clearly remembered the drill – up and into his crate with no nudging whatsoever.

Doug wanted me to drive it around for an hour or so to make sure it felt OK to me. We headed over to this great dog park and Max had a wonderful half hour or so chasing balls and playing with a couple of other dogs before returning to the car. The key fob wouldn’t remotely unlock the doors, but I thought its battery was dead (HA!).

I got in and turned the key – nada. Zip. Not even a hint of cranking. Dead battery alright… Called Doug to see if they could jump-start me, and Robert came over with a portable starter. It hadn’t been charged up so couldn’t get us going. Next call to AAA: I reached someone in my home state, in Portland. She asked if I was on a cell phone and when I answered affirmatively asked where I was.

“Amarillo, Texas.”

“Well, I’m in Portland, Maine,” she said with a slight laugh.

“How’s the weather there?” I asked, and she said it was raining. “How about where you are? Is it nice?”

“Sunny and warm,” I answered and she said, “Aw, don’t rub it in!”

Someone showed up within a half hour, and we were on the road again back to Drury so the insurance adjuster could see the car before we left. The rental car has been returned, and Tumbleweed is waiting by our door for the next leg of the adventure.

Headlights on for safety? Sure, but I won’t make that mistake again. It’s back to my routine: turn off the engine, remove the key, turn off the headlights, get out…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in On the Road, Texas, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tumbleweed is back on the road…

  1. hank says:

    sure looks like they did a topnotch job on the old boy!

    ready for a little laugh?

    • Maureen Farr says:

      They sure did do a top notch job!! And thank all the powers that be for IN-surance!! I love that youtube video! Max perked up and looked for the singer. Tomorrow, the Tumbleweeds will be tumbling (safely, that is) towards home.

  2. Steve Murray says:

    Gosh, Tumbleweed does look nice, even the Maine plate shines like a new dollar! he healed faster than I, but am very much on the mend. Sorry about the battery problem – how soon we forget! You mentioned a book a while ago; I think it might sell. You have a great combination of writing and photographic talent and both should be included. I think it might top “Travels With Charlie”. Safe trip home, have really enjoyed following your adventures.
    Steve

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Aw, Steve! Thanks so much for the vote of confidence. Keep up with your own healing. I hope it’s going well. and keep on following along!

  3. Yay! But kind of an inglorious start out of the gate, huh? lol! Glad you’re back on the road with TMBLWD! love, Cin

Leave a Reply

