Tumbleweed is still out…


An early morning text from Doug informed me that they are expecting the last parts to be delivered Friday morning. Without those parts, they can’t reassemble the front end, so… Tumbleweed won’t be ready until Tuesday or Wednesday of next week.

After feeling serious disappointment, I decided to reframe my thinking: We are all okay, Tumbleweed will ride again, we will get home – we just don’t know exactly when. I am still grateful.

Later, we took a drive downtown, went to Three Dogs (I know! I’m an addict…), the Food Co-Op, and took a tour of 510 W Market Street with the realtor. It’s a sweet little home – on the small side – with a fabulous enclosed yard, and a beautiful separate studio building. Although I’m in no position to even think about buying it, I did come back and fantasize for a half hour or so.

The house for sale at 510 W Market Street in Silver City.

Walking on Bullard Street to Three Dogs, we encountered the most amazing fragrance…

What is that heavenly scent? Lilacs are bursting forth next door to the Three Dogs, providing great “pasture” for bees and butterflies.

In about 45 minutes, I’m going to dinner with Ellen and a couple of her friends at the Curious Kumquat – a GastroPub and gourmet grocery here in town. It’s one of Ellen’s faves, and I cannot wait! I’m ready for a good meal out with some new women friends!

And on that note, here’s a final shot of Max enjoying one of his faves – a marrow bone.

Max, chewing on a marrow bone, oblivious to the puparazzi.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Eating out on a road trip, Friends along the way, New Mexico, On the Road, Silver City, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tumbleweed is still out…

  1. Ellie Adams says:

    What a sweet house 510 is!! Don’t you just love the colors of the southwest stucco? And then the lovely accent colors! Yum! It must have been fun to have a house tour!
    You’ll be on your way home soon! Drag along some warmer weather please!

    I’m trying to put together in my scattered mind some thoughts of why your Blog is so appealing . At some point I’ll put my thoughts together and share them! A book writtren about our trip would be the best!!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      I do love the SW colors, Ellie. If I thought I could actually move away from Maine, this is a place I could be. Love the town, the people, the FOOD CO-OP, three dogs, the weather… that house… ’nuff said.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      thanks Ellie! I love the typo “a book written about *our* trip!! It is more than just Max and me on this trip, and I am grateful to each and every one of you who are riding along with us. I seem to have dragged cold weather with me for 3/4 of the trip, I guess I can drag some warmth along home.

      • Oh – I didn’t realize that was a typo. It really feels as if we’re traveling with you! Definitely sharing your adventures.

      • Maureen Farr says:

        maybe I mistook it for a typo!

      • Ellie Adams says:

        Not a typo!
        In the beginning I said that I was looking forward to a vicarious road trip/ I think it has been a bit more than vicarious. I feel as though I had journeyed as well! Thanks for that gift!! It made aa cold winter warmer!

      • Maureen Farr says:

        Ellie, I apologize for thinking it a typo. There are days when I feel the weight of all of you riding along with me (in a good sense) and it’s what sometimes gets me to the keyboard after a day of driving. I am at a point now where I NEED to write every day, and that is due to you, and all my other loyal fellow travelers. Thanks for the gift of your friendship.

  2. hank says:

    so what i have already given you is not sufficient? fuck. i thought i went all out

  3. What Ellie said.
    (Nice socks!)
    Lilacs – oh, joy!
    And – I too will preorder your upcoming book.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thank you Marilyn. I like those socks too. So, two pre-orders sounds like it’s a going concern!! Yes, those lilacs were such a treat. Tonight, walking with Max in the hood after dinner, I saw a clump of dark purple irises!! I’ll try and remember to snap a pic of them tomorrow. All of you are the BEST!

    • Lynne Magee says:

      ME TOO!

  4. Janelle Delicata says:

    Love those socks, Maureen!
    Hey – Fred is doing an “Art by Accident” class in June (two day weekend June 4 – 5) at his studio. I’ve signed up and there may be some other PMC Tribe there. Just wanted to let you know in case you’re back by then…
    That house is gorgeous! Wish I could move there.
    Janelle

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Janelle, that sounds like a fun weekend. I’m not sure, so can’t commit at this time. nice to have you along for the ride with us on the blog!

Leave a Reply

