Back on the street… Silver City


I’ve been sick in bed with flu-like symptoms for two days, but today I’m on the mend. Feeling much better, able to sit up and write a short post. Max stuck to me like glue for the whole two days – literally lying on me in bed, as if that would somehow make me feel better. A 52-pound dog lying across your legs is not exactly healing medicine, but I got the message – and appreciated it.

I only wish that I had felt well enough to get a photo of his concerned face next to me as I barfed into the toilet! Remember Nana – the dog from Peter Pan? She was all I could think of when I saw the look on his face!

Anyway, on the mend but not exactly out and about. So here are some photos from recent forays about town.

Sunday morning, we walked to town for a latté and some exercise. This beauty was just three blocks from our adobe:

What a gorgeous tree wisteria!

I love these patinaed copper house numbers against this pink adobe wall. (Oh, yeah – it just happens to be that same house I mentioned was for sale last week)

Silver City Food Co-op - right on the main drag. Sunday was a good time to get a clear shot of it.

The Three Dogs was packed on Sunday morning. People reading the Sunday Times, drinking coffee, visiting… Every seat was filled! What a wonderful, happening, local gathering spot. My latté was accompanied by an amazing piece of cinnamon/apple cake – custardy center, crunchy crust, loaded with cinnamon.

Cinnamon/apple cake at Three Dogs. Wow! Ria can BAKE!!

Walking back, we saw some more interesting things to snap:

This interesting tile design was on an adobe wall on a side street.

And here’s the rest of it…

Just an interesting sculpture sitting outside what must be the artist’s studio.

Closeup view of part of that same sculpture.

By the time we got back to our adobe, I knew that I was coming down with something, and went straight to bed – where I remained until this morning.

I’ve been driving by this enigmatic sign for days – hoping I could get a photo of it in the right light, at the right angle, and today I got it. What language do you think it is? What does it say?

Well, first off, it’s English. One word. As you get closer, the angle of view changes somehow and the single word is clear as day:

JESUS

Finally, for all of his fans, here’s another pic of the curly boy:

He likes being able to sit up and look out the rear window… I may have to give him a reprieve from the crate when we get Tumbleweed back.

He’s all healed up and ready for adventure. As soon as I am feeling 100% we will do it…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Eating out on a road trip, New Mexico, On the Road, Silver City, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Back on the street… Silver City

  1. Gandalf says:

    I’m glad you’re on the mend. Now tell me how you did it. I’m in my third successive round of a viral cold that has had me discombobulated since March 16! Give, woman, give!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      its all this damn sunshine, Hendrik. You cant stay down with that blazing outside your door. oh and the dog therapy having him slam his 52 pounds down onto my leg or my hip every time he turns around? Youd get well sooner too! Shall I have him email Hoagie on the technique? for example, right now? he’s beside me on the loveseat, with his 80 pound head resting on my left arm! makes it hard to type

  2. Buzz Masters says:

    So have you found out how much that house is yet?????

  3. Janet says:

    Glad you are feeling better, Momo. Sucky to be sick, especially far from the comforts of home. Although sunshine and warmth may beat out the comforts of rainy dreary home.

  4. Steve Murray says:

    Sorry to hear that you have been ill and glad you are recovering – amazing what a good warm doggie blanket can do. My sister ( I have two, one in Maine who frequently leaves comments here) and brother-in-law reside in Oklahoma where he does great leather work, specializing in saddles. He has an old saddle that belonged to a great uncle and was built c. 1880. The uncle walked out of the house one day and was never heard from again, perhaps robbed and shot, who knows? The saddle hung in the barn for a while, then spent years in storage. My brother-in-law has the building and shipping information on it, the saddle was built in Silver City and shipped by rail to Oklahoma.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Steve, that is so cool! Sad about the great uncle though. Does he have the saddle on display in his shop? And who is your sister (first name is OK)?? We’ve come a long way since running into you in Florida!

      • Lynne Magee says:

        Hi, Maureen. I’m the sister Steve is talking about. The saddle is in our living room (which, by the way, IS Lonnie’s shop)! Nothing fancy here. Lonnie does custom work, so has nothing on display. I’ve been following you since Steve told me he met you in Florida. I really enjoy it. I’ve told our Brittany Spaniel, Pete, about Max and now he wants to go on the road! Get well soon! Lynne Magee

      • Maureen Farr says:

        Thanks Lynne – so glad you’ve been following us. I don’t think we’ll make it to your neck o the woods on this trek, but I appreciate the invitation!

    • What an amazing story about your great uncle and his saddle-making specialty and ultimate disappearance–fascinating! And especially that the saddle is still in existence–I love it!

  5. Ellie Adams says:

    I’ll answer your question for you! I’m Steve’s Maine sister who lives in Maine. Our sister, Lynne, lives in Okalahoma and is wife to Steve’s brother in law whom he writes about. ( I think he left out part of a sentence in his note to you!) Steve is the family historian and has far more little tid bits than I can ever remember! I love it!!

    I’m sorry you’ve beeen ill! I love your blog so much that I began to notice that we needed to her from you! I’m glad that Max is a good healer! Hope you’re 100% soon! loved your pictures!!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks Ellie for this info! I’ve enjoyed getting all your comments, and appreciate so much that you love the blog. What will I do when I get home!? and thanks for the tip on Steve being the family historian. I wish my family had one

  6. Mom, you’ll just have to keep writing about your “adventures” on a small island in Downeast Maine! That’s what you’ll do!

    You’re like a regular Samuel Pepys–lol! He not only wrote about big things going on, but the minutiae of every day life in his time and gossipy tidbits about his neighbors and society–I would say he’s one of the more famous diarists–you’re following in a grand Pepysian tradition!

    Love the pictures, especially of the teddy bear poodle and still so glad you’re better! love, Cin

  7. Maureen Farr says:

    He does look like a teddy bear, doesn’t he? I’m about to get on the phone and see if he can get a trim next Monday back in Santa Fe…

Leave a Reply

