Bayard… you don’t need to go there!


I read about A.I.R. Coffee Café and Gallery over in Bayard, so thought it might be an interesting Saturday morning jaunt…

It wasn’t.

Oh, it was a nice drive, but Bayard was much as I thought last weekend when I opted to drive past without turning on my way back from City of Rocks State Park. There is nothing going on there at all. A.I.R. Café was OK, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to drive there again for a cup of Joe. My biggest surprise was when I walked up to the order a latté, the woman behind the counter said, “Hi, Maureen!” Do I know her??

Turns out I do know her! It was Julie, the woman I chatted with the other morning at Three Dogs in Silver City! She was over in Bayard “volunteering” at her friend’s place for the day so he could catch up on other things.

Max and I sat out on the front patio, overlooking Central Avenue (the main drag and not very busy…) and the mountains to our south.

Fluff-dog at the café – Saturday morning.

A local woman came out while we were sitting there and asked if she could pat my dog. We got into a nice conversation, and she said she has a bad back. “I sleep outside on my trampoline,” she told me a little sheepishly. “When I wake up in the morning, there are all the birds, and it’s so beautiful! Road runners, bluebirds, I don’t know what all…” she said.

“And the stars at night! They must be amazing,” I countered. “Oh yeah, I’m learning the names of the constellations…” she told me. She said she wants to clean up a little around her place and make some trails to walk to see the birds.

On the way out there, I made the second turn into Bayard – which took me about 2/10 mile beyond the café. I drove out of Bayard for a couple of miles to check out the mining operation that I could see. It’s the Chino Mine – I find it sort of sad to see these mining operations stripping the tops of these mountains. On the other hand, I’m assuming they are good for the small town economy wherever they are located…

The Chino Mine, just outside Bayard, NM is another big strip mining operation. I’m not sure what they dig out of this one…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, New Mexico, Silver City, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bayard… you don’t need to go there!

  1. Maureen Farr says:

    HANK & BUZZ: OK, I WAS LAZY TODAY… and didn’t Google it! Copper. thanks!

Leave a Reply

