It’s not snowing here…


Silver City – no joke – is 79°F and sunny! This morning, Max went to the Rock Center downtown for a bath, and I poked around through some galleries after spending a pleasant 45 minutes at Three Dogs (inside, with a magazine no less!) .

The view from my table inside at the Three Dogs Coffeehouse. What a cool, happening place this is. Ron and Rhea seem to know everyone who comes through the door – and often their preferred coffee order!

Between Three Dogs and The Rock Center, there was this hedge with ready-to-burst-open blooms that looked familiar, albeit smaller than at home…

A hedge of lilacs ready to burst into flower!!

When I picked Max up, Gaye told me that he was “very naughty.” “Oh, I’m so sorry! He’s not used to this,” I replied, and she laughed and said, “No – not naughty, knotty! He needed a lot of brushing!” He was really happy to see me, and seemed none the worse for the experience. As a matter of fact, he looks MAH-velous!

Now where are those people who asked if I was a show dog?? Look at me now!

I had a really nice talk with George at the Julian Gallery on Texas Street. He’s only been in Silver City for six months, but really loves it. He moved from Tucson, and told me he’s never lived in such a small town before. We exchanged some newcomer-to-small-town stories – one of my own favorites is when I was trying to find someone to rebuild my chimney after buying my house in 1995. I called Ray G, a local mason, and when I said my name and started to tell him which house I … “I know where you live,” he interjected, causing me a moment of startled panic! He knows where I live!?

George had a similar story of being at the grocery checkout when the cashier said, “You’re George.” Well, yes… “You have the gallery on Texas Street.” Er, yeah… “You rented your place in Tucson to Marilyn.” He said there was absolutely nothing to give him away and she knew who he was!! Small towns. Gotta love ’em!

George really liked the necklace I was wearing – which I made – and as we talked about the process of PMC (Precious Metal Clay) he got more and more excited. He may give it a try himself – and he also wants to see more of my work, which I’ll take in to show him later today or tomorrow.

This is the necklace I was wearing – a fine silver (PMC) hollow bead, made from a two piece mold of a heart-shaped beach rock.

After visiting a half-dozen galleries, I went to check on the pampered pet – he wasn’t going to be ready for another hour, so I went to the laundramat and got my clothes clean!

My, what an exciting life we lead these days. At least there’s no snow…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Musings, New Mexico, On the Road, Silver City, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s not snowing here…

  1. katyallgeyer says:

    I think you got gallery representation in Silver City…you go, girl! 🙂

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    Katy – I think maybe, yeah. he lifted this cloth and said, “I’ve got this jewelry case… and no jewelers!” He’s starting to take on other artists. Might be good for me… tonight is First Friday artwalk.

  3. So – the heart was a rock, and can be duplicated. I was admiring it on your mozelleart site. Will you show any art at the Walk this evening?

  4. guy oliver says:

    Maureen
    Welcome to Small Town America, this is what made our country great, furnished our statesmen, soldiers and visionaries whose ideas brought us into the future. Just think, the people you have met along your route are the product of our great past. Unfortuately progress has weakened our future. Try to find a family show on TV or at the movie theaters. Our youth who once joined the Boy Scouts of America, now join gangs bent on destruction and senseless killing. Our education process is in shambles where penmanship is no longer taught, history only goes back to the last war of the moment and most of the brighter students know more than their teachers. I would hope that more could have the experiences you are having and your sharing is sure to create an awareness that there is more out there than your own backyard

  5. I can believe that Max was a knotty boy! lol! Cute–he looks adorable! How nice it must’ve been to see Lilacs in the middle of Silver City, NM! A little taste of home? love, Cin

  6. Maureen Farr says:

    Guy! nice to hear from you again… I agree about Small Town America making our country great – and strong. and I hope that my trip has, indeed, inspired some folks to look beyond their own sphere. There is so much out here. So much LIFE to experience.

  7. Gandalf says:

    You ain’t got snow cuz we had it here. Six inches of wet, gloppy, rump-e-dump-dump on the roof, let your dog out and have him come back sodden April Fool’s Day snow. Yuck, yuck, double yuck. Enjoy wherever you are; it’s not HERE!

  8. Catherine says:

    Hi Maureen, When I moved to Maine from NYC I called to have the telephone service hooked up. I was on hold for some 20 minutes which in New York generally means no-one will come on the line ever again. In Maine though, it means someone is doing something to help you. The woman came back on the line and told me that the place I was going to live was known as the Chisholm farmhouse, had been previously lived in by the local Vet, Thibideau and that my phone was ready to plug in. It was done! In New York that could have taken 3 weeks! I was know, they were known, it was easy and a wonderful introduction to life in a small town.

  9. Maureen Farr says:

    Catherine, I LOVE this story! Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

