Silver City, one week on…


We arrived here just one week ago – and here we are, still… waiting for Tumbleweed. Doug sent me a couple of photos this morning with an update. Mr. T has gone to the paint shop and will be back in the regular shop tomorrow for the installation of his engine.

Lookin’ good!

Yikes! No doors!!

Stripped down and ready for paint.

I remember having a friend on my street in Westbrook when I was about 5 years old who had two crazy uncles. They drove around in a Jeep with no doors on either side. I used to be terrified that they would fall out and get run over… Of course, Tumbleweed’s doors will be back in place when we pick him up.

Yesterday afternoon, I decided to get my studio box out and set up on the kitchen table to work on jewelry. Unfortunately, I spent over an hour cleaning out some gunky stuff that was all over everything, and then cleaning out one of my toolboxes, where my bottle of liver of sulphur had leaked on everything below it…

Can’t eat on this table right now!

The good news, is that I am now ready to work! This afternoon is going to be productive…

I’m starting to feel the challenge of having to find entertainment not only for Max, but also for my followers! Silver City is a great place to hang out, but there isn’t much going on here. Hmmm… maybe we’ll have to find another little field trip. Somewhere round these parts was the stomping grounds of Billy the Kid. I read that his mother’s grave is here in Silver City – perhaps we can take a picture there… And I haven’t gone to the local Historical Society Museum yet either.

I’m figuring that tomorrow while Max is getting a bath I can do something like that without guilt. He’ll be preoccupied with his beauty treatment, rather than sitting in a warm car wondering if I will come back!

Breakfast this morning:

French press coffee, hemp waffles with a perfectly ripe pear, kiwi, and Greek yogurt.


My new cup that I bought the other day at Yada yarn…

Max, post-breakfast nap in the sun:

We did find a nice park to play in this morning, although it’s not really a dog park. It’s mostly fenced but that area is definitely for little kids, with lots of great swings and things to climb on and through. We went to the far back and played ball, but he got hot pretty quickly, so we went to the grocery and came back to our cool apartment. When we got back here I found a bag of his doggy toys in the trunk and brought them in. As you can see, he’s all in…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, New Mexico, On the Road, Puppy antics, Random thoughts, Silver City, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Silver City, one week on…

  1. Awww! Max is sooo cute! I love to see him sleeping, too!

  2. Ellie Adams says:

    Okay…Liver of Sulfer??? Love the cup!!

  3. sarah doremus says:

    I don’t care if you hang in silver city. I love the blog. How much was that mug? It is beautiful.. I went to yada yarn website but didn’t see the pottery. How is max’s foot? sarah

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Sarah – glad you love the blog. I think you’d like Silver City. $15 – a bargain. his foot is all healed, but now he has a bit of diarrhea, I think from the antibiotics. we’re back to rice and pumpkin…

  4. Tumbleweed is actually looking better. It’s a painstaking process. It seems you found the professionals to achieve a complete recovery. Remarkable!

Leave a Reply

