Three dogs again…


I received an update from Doug about Tumbleweed this morning. They have replaced the front rail, he’s going to the paint shop to get the engine compartment painted, and the engine will be re-installed by Friday or Monday. I won’t know for sure how long until he’s ready until early next week, so I asked Ellen if we can stay here another week. The answer was resounding yes!

Tumbleweed’s sturdy front end – with a new lower rail in place. He’s ready for some paint, and to get his engine back!


Later, Max and I walked downtown for a latté and scone at Three Dogs Café. This was a no-poptart day, apparently, and the scone was equally as delicious.

Max, at the door to Three Dogs Café.


Lemon currant scone on a beautiful handmade plate, with the best latté for miles around – @ Three Dogs Café.

I had a nice chat with a woman who just moved to Silver City and loves it. I’m terrible with names, and even though she told me hers it has gone right out of my head… Maybe we’ll run into one another again and I can ask one more time!

On the way back home, I took some photos to share:

St. Vincent de Paul Catholic Church, built in 1874.


I saw this house for sale online – it’s a real beauty just three blocks from downtown in the historic district, almost next door to the church (above). PLUS, it has a separate studio building, and is enclosed by an adobe wall! Tempting…


This cactus was such an amazing color – especially against that sky blue wall!


This gate has a wooden mountainscape with a silver moon in the middle on its lintel.


This “mountain“ goat stands guard on top of a garage at the corner of our street. Same house as that cool gate.

On Friday morning, Max is going to the doggie spa for a bath. While he’s being pampered, I’m going to walk around town and visit some of the galleries…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, New Mexico, Silver City, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Three dogs again…

  1. hank says:

    very very nice photos. yeah. after this friggin winter (more snow called for tomorrow) VERY tempting…

    if you buy it i will visit

    i think max needs another haircut. just sayin….

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    Hank, you say that NOW… if you will really visit, I’ll buy it (just kidding!). He’s getting a bath on Friday. Not ready to let someone clip his coat yet. just sayin back atcha!

  3. Buzz Masters says:

    How much is the house? Hmmmmm.

  4. sarah doremus says:

    Holy Mo-ly really thinking of buying? We would visit too. Hank want to travel with us? sarah

    • Maureen Farr says:

      I’d seriously think about it if my house sold I’m tempted to call realtor just to see it anyway. did you guys move yet??

      • sarah doremus says:

        no, we are doing some work before we move. Kitchen stuff, my studio, and fixing windows and floor. We will probably move in at the beginning of may. I can’t wait. So here is your invite to dinner at 192 dexter farm drive when you return. Please come to dinner when you return. sarah and linda

  5. Catherine says:

    I love the purple cactus against that wall. Thank you for that one!

    You seem very comfortable in this town…do you like it as much as Portland?

    • Maureen Farr says:

      No. Portland has a bigger draw – my family! I AM loving the temps here even though it’s really dry! It feels like the Deer Isle of the desert

  6. Maureen Farr says:

    Sarah, I accept the invite! can’t wait to see the new digs and you and Linda, of course!

Leave a Reply

