3 Dog Café and Yada Yarns…


We went to 3 Dog Café this morning as predicted. There’s a counter all along the rail of their front porch, with little stools to sit on in the sun while you refuel and WTWGB. There wasn’t a lot of foot traffic on the sidewalk, but there were a lot of people coming in for their caffeine fix, so Max got to be the porch greeter.

I have to say their latté is the best I’ve had in 300 miles – or maybe even more! They serve it in a French bistro glass, with a lump of raw sugar, so you can see the crema. I also had one of their homemade pop tarts – which is like no pop tart ever! A delicate flaky crust with blueberry filling and sprinkled with sugar before it’s baked made this the most delicate confection you can imagine.

After I had eaten the whole thing – and consumed every drop of latté, scooping up the foam with the little spoon – I realized I didn’t take any photos! Oh well, that means I MUST go back tomorrow. Can’t disappoint my followers…

The pop tart was served on the most beautiful little handmade plate – terra cotta with a fabulous orange glaze – and it turns out to be made by Suzie who owns Yada Yarns, just down the block. So, we headed on over and I had a great little shopping spree. A small plate, a cool little cup, and a couple of heart-shaped pins made from the hoods of old trucks rounded out the morning.

We tried to find the walking path along the creek, but ended up talking with young couple living in the bush near the trail… Donna and Donny were camping out there with their little black Chihuahua/mix, Pixie, and a cat named Nahla. While I talked with them, Pixie and Max tore around us through the underbrush and around the gravel road. Max looked like a Percheron compared to little Pixie! Nahla, on the other hand, let him know right away – in that assertive way that only cats can manage – that she was NOT going to play. Or let him come close…

No pictures this morning – but it is another perfect day in Paradise, if you can call the desert Southwest such a name. I’m falling in love with this little town…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, New Mexico, Silver City, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 3 Dog Café and Yada Yarns…

  1. sarah doremus says:

    Armadillo barbies arrived. Thank you although I think they are republicans. miss you s

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    No WAY are they republicans! I did an extensive background check… they assured me that they were only played with by little dems. Hope you make something great with em!

  3. Marilyn Wheeler says:

    What fun! I Googled Yada Yarns – even her web site is happy! Then I Googled 3 Dog Café, and I got ….. your blog! They’re on my bucket list now – might even happen, since my cousin lives in Albuquerque.
    Now I’ll do a search on “armadillo barbies” :^)

  4. Ellie Adams says:

    Sarah’s pieces are amazing!! They range from fun to stunningly beautiful!! The pieces say that she enjoys her work!

    It’s fun that you have incorporated that little town into your life. What an unexpected joy that you have added to your journey!

  5. Maureen Farr says:

    Elie, They are stunning aren’t they? She’s as amazing as her jewelry. a great friend who I treasure. And yes, it is so nice to have come to Silver City and fallen in love!

  6. Maureen Farr says:

    Marilyn, she is all that and more!

Leave a Reply

