Good morning Silver City


Max is still on Central Time. He asked to go out again this morning at 6AM. It was beautiful, crisp and cold, with the last stars in the sky, and the moon hanging low above the houses. No lights on in any of the neighboring houses – everyone still snug asleep.

The front of our house faces east, and I am curled up on the little loveseat with my coffee, the New Mexico Vacation Guide, and my dog asleep beside me. What could be better?

No rushing this morning. Usually, I would have eaten breakfast, hopped in the shower, and would be organizing and packing up to load the car for our daily drive. Max would be following me back and forth across the room with his eyes, occasionally jumping up to make sure I didn’t go out the door without him (As IF!).

The sun is streaming in through the blinds, the street is really quiet, and I am thanking my lucky stars for finding this place. I think Silver City is going to be a great stop for us this week.

In looking at the map this morning, I discovered that Silver City is just east of the Continental Divide. Also, I have to correct yesterday’s post about the elevation of Emory Pass. It is 8,228 feet – and that is the PASS. The mountains rose above us another couple of thousand feet!

I’m thinking we might go up to the Gila Cliff Dwellings this weekend; maybe head a little south to City of Rocks State Park. Meanwhile, it’s time to get my butt in gear and go downtown with Mr. Pup…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, New Mexico, On the Road, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good morning Silver City

  1. Steve Murray says:

    Hi Maureen-
    Appears you are having a bit more adventure than intended. I wonder if I’d take it all as well as you apparently have. You certainly have the ability to make a silk purse from a sow’s ear. Your place in Silver City sounds great. Tumbleweed and I are in about the same shape, I had some cervical spine surgery last week. From all appearances we are both coming along well. Ah, yes, Border Express. Dad was in the business of operating water systems in Maine when I was young 40’s – 60’s. I recall Border Express trucks delivering hydrants, pipe fittings, etc. The trucks had a unique color scheme – orange with black lettering perhaps? Stay happy and keep the photos and descriptions coming – nearly all places I have never seen.

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    hi Steve,
    I hope your recovery goes well and quickly. Regarding the silk purse? what else can I do? I’m too far from home to turn tail and skedaddle without Tumbleweed! He’s been a good ole ride so I’m not going to abandon him either! Hang in there – I wish you a full recovery.

  3. hank says:

    friday evening bout 5:30 and snowing. so, you know…
    at least you’re in the beautiful southwest, exploring with mr pup

    • Maureen Farr says:

      aaargh!! does winter never end for you guys?! we just came in from a walk around the block – it’s still sunny, breezy, about 65 (not to rub it in or anything!). if I hadn’t crashed the car, we’d be on the east coast by now…

Leave a Reply

