Tumbleweed is going to surgery!


I woke up this morning determined to get some answers on the status of poor ole Tumbleweed, and once that was done, to head out of town…

Frustration set in early when the adjuster called with NO NEW information for me other than to tell me that the “injured party has hired a lawyer.” Which put me into a bit of a panic.

So, I called my insurance agent, Marie, back in Blue Hill, and she got on it for me! Within 10 minutes, she called back with lots of reassurances for me that Vermont Mutual is looking out for me, etc. etc.

She also told me that the appraisal on the damages had come in, and it was $8,200 – well below the amount that would have turned Tumbleweed into scrap metal…

So, I was able to start the process of moving him from the towing and wrecker service lot to a body shop!!

I Googled “auto body shops, amarillo” and the first one that came up had seven excellent reviews. I decided to call them and see if they could take on my ailing car. Doug, who answered the phone at Drury Body Shop, assured me that they could take it on, and explained that they would go over everything with me when I came in.

I signed a release at the towing company, and they promised to deliver Tumbleweed to Drury “in a couple of minutes.” They were BIG, TEXAS minutes – a half hour later, at Drury, we were still waiting for him to arrive.

Meanwhile, Doug started a folder on us, got in touch with the insurance adjuster to have her fax over the appraisal report, and just made me feel so at ease about the whole process.

When I told him that I had found them online and they had seven excellent reviews, he beamed and said they were the Pro repair shop for several insurance companies (whose names I don’t remember) as well as the EXCLUSIVE repair ship for Geico in Amarillo. He assured me that they would fix my car up as quickly as possible, and that I would be extremely pleased with the results.

While we were waiting for Tumbleweed to arrive, I decided to go over to the Municipal Courthouse and deal with my traffic citation for “causing an accident.”

When I got there, I learned that I had to appear before a judge. This town is so efficient, that they have court appearances at 9 and 11 AM, and 1, 3, and 4 PM every weekday! Since it was already after noon, I opted for 1 PM, and went outside to take Max for a walk around a few downtown blocks.

That crinkled up reflection is the Chase bank building. I hope it doesn’t “reflect” the state of Chase’s financial stability!!


Amarillo is the Quarter Horse Capital, so there a number of these larger than life artist-decorated statues of quarter horses around downtown.


Hey! You look like you could run fast. Wanna race me? I’m pretty fast myself!


I just thought this sign was pretty cool!

I had to pay a $193 fine, and if I don’t get another ticket for 30 days, this will be deleted from my record. I can do this…

After court, we returned to Drury and there was Tumbleweed in the parking lot!

Tumbleweed, waiting to go into surgery and rehab at Drury Body Shop in Amarillo.


Doug told me they would take him inside and start tearing him down to assess damage, order parts from the (2nd largest in the US) Honda dealer in Oklahoma City, and probably be able to start repairs by the end of the week!!

Ouch! That looks like it hurts! Is Tumbleweed really going to be OK?


Although we checked out of La Quinta this morning, with every intention of heading out of town, all the machinations involved in getting Tumbleweed moved took until almost 2 PM. So, we are checked into a pretty nice Motel 6 for tonight.

Tomorrow? Maybe we’ll head west again and go back up to Santa Fe. There are Extreme Wildfire Danger alerts for Northeast New Mexico east of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, and Northwest Texas plains, with really high winds as well.

Since Santa Fe is at a high elevation, the worst we might encounter is a dusting of snow! Also, temperatures down here on the plains are running in the mid-80s and Santa Fe is mid-50s to 60s – much better in my book.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in New Mexico, On the Road, Santa Fe, Texas, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tumbleweed is going to surgery!

  1. graceann says:

    I’ll light a candle for Tumbleweed!

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    Thanks Graceann! I am so happy that he can be saved…

  3. guy oliver says:

    If I had to be marooned any place on earth it would be Sante Fe It was my haven of rest and relaxation when I chose to hide out from upper management when I wanted to escape carrying some of the stupid ideas that made the Southern Pacific a takeover for the Union Pacific

  4. Maureen Farr says:

    Stay tuned, Guy! I’m waiting to hear how long Tumbleweed will be in the shop , and I hope to find a nice place to stay in Santa Fe for the duration!

  5. Marilyn Wheeler says:

    Whew! With that settled, you can head for the hills for more adventures.
    Good thing you’re tech-savvy – you seem to be finding the best of the best!

  6. Maureen Farr says:

    Too true Marilyn! These guys at the body shop are great! I’m feeling like Tumbleweed is in good hands.

  7. Catherine says:

    I’m so glad Tumbleweed can be saved. You are one amazing and resourceful traveler and I’ve loved reading about your adventures and menus every day.

Leave a Reply

