Macaroni Joe’s redux…


If it was great the first time, it must be good a second go ’round, right? I’m happy to report that Mac Joe lived up to its prior reputation…

I went back again tonight with the new toes


And the new haircut

I hate taking my own photo – this is as good as it gets!


And the handsome younger man

Don’t look now, but I think that’s our waiter coming with bread!

Our server tonight was Adam, who was limping due to a flare-up of gout (OUCH), but a great server nonetheless. I tried to keep his trips back to our table to a minimum, after watching him limp out to greet us and return to the restaurant.

I started with the Caesar Salad because it was so good the other night – just too good to pass up.

I really wanted to have the tenderloin again, but I felt that I had too many followers waiting for a different meal, so I ordered Duck Breast, with a balsamic cranberry reduction, smashed potatoes, and fresh grilled asparagus.

The duck was done to a perfect, pink and juicy medium; the potatoes smashed with the skins on and a touch of garlic, and the asparagus? Oh my! Springtime heaven!

A glass of that excellent Pinot Grigio rounded out the main course, and I ordered Hazelnut Crème Brulée for dessert (how did I miss that one the other night??).

And what’s to say about Hazelnut Crème Brulée except it was smooth and creamy with delicate hints of hazelnut, and perfectly topped with a crisp shell of Brulée. Magnifique!

Another five star dinner! It was 85°F in Amarillo with a fairly strong wind, so it was really pleasant to be out on their shady patio for dinner. Again, we were the only outdoor diners, but that was OK with me.

After dinner, we drove over to 6th Avenue (Historic Route 66) to see if it would be worth walking about and snapping pix, but again, everything was closed…

And for my friend, Carolyn, who asked for photos of Amarillo so she’d know “what I’ll be missing by never going there,” here’s item # 1:

A typical no-amount-of-character street corner in Amarillo. There are some nicer parts of town, but the majority of it is sprawling out onto the Texas plains in this same fashion.


Tomorrow, there’s the weekly Amarillo Livestock Auction, and I’m hoping to get there and watch some of the action. I’m also hoping to get a call from my insurance adjuster with some news of Tumbleweed’s fate…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Eating out on a road trip, On the Road, Texas, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Macaroni Joe’s redux…

  1. hank says:

    wow, nice toes!

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    thanks! It was a great treat-myself day…

  3. Ayuh, nice toes.
    And a lovely dinner. Thanks for humoring us ~ it was delightful!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Marilyn, you are most welcome! I like having photos to go with my posts, but it didn’t occur to me to take pix of my toes and hair til I was “encouraged” by my followers!

  4. Ellie Adams says:

    Pino Grigio, duck and Creme Brulee, Oh my God!! What a way to make lemonade from lemons! (Pardon a very trite statement!) And…Tomorrow you can buy a cow!!

    Nice toes and hair!! Thanks for the pics!

  5. Ellie Adams says:

    Opps! I hadn’t read the lemonade remark from yesterday!!

  6. Lori C. says:

    Hey Mozelle, So much fun getting caught up with your blog. The good news is, and I know you know this, it’s all so much more fun with a dog along! Good luck at the auction, don’t forget to check the teeth… xxox, Lori

  7. Janelle Delicata says:

    Love the haircut! And the neon toes!
    Hope Tumbleweed gets fixed soon.
    Janelle

  8. sarah doremus says:

    Hi Mo, Love the haircut, don’t your toes feel like they are sufficating? Listen kick the hufs(cow feet, spelling?) before you buy ’em.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Hey Sarah! Nope, my toes are happy… Didn’t get to kick any hoofs today. Good news: tumbleweed can be fixed! So I spent morning making arrangements with a body shop. Yee-ha!!!

Leave a Reply

