Amarillo, day four…


Frustration this morning. I received a call from Hilary, the adjuster at Vermont Mutual, telling me she has no information yet on poor Tumbleweed.

Apparently, the inspector has to look up all the parts and their pricing, and post his report to Vermont Mutual’s computer system. When she told me it could take “a couple of days” to get the report, I started whining (OK– only in my head, but still!).

So, what do women (stereotypically) do when they are frustrated or depressed??? Shop? Go to the beauty salon? Get their nails done? I did the latter two…

I desperately needed a haircut, so I went on Yelp! and found Vuja De with a great review written about it. Don’t you love that play on Deja Vu??

Lisa was the go-to gal according to Peter C on Yelp, so I called up and, as luck would have it, Lisa was available and could see me at 10:30!

She gave me a great haircut – shorter than I expected, and she put product in it – “I love product!” she told me as she convinced me that I might want to buy what she was putting in my hair… I did.

I told her I was also looking to get a pedicure and she pointed me in the direction of Anita at Top Ten Nails here in Amarillo.

I headed on over there next, and Anita also was available. I got the works – which included the usual stuff like a soak, nail trim, callous removal,and color with the addition of a luxurious sugar scrub all the way up to my knees, then a hot towel wrap, paraffin wax, and hot stone massage. Tootsie heaven!

In the process – which turned out to be lengthier than I expected – the sun was making a valiant effort to burst through the overcast and I was worried that Max might get overheated in the car. Anita assured me that “your puppy can come in here! Everyone here loves puppies.”

Even after explaining that he was a BIG puppy, he was still invited in, so I went out before she put color on my toes, and brought him inside.

All the women who work in the salon are Asians, and they all went nuts for Max! They came over with cell phones to snap pictures, abandoning their clients while doing so!

He’s SO used to Pupparazzi that he just gave them his best poses…

Now, we are back at our “home away from home.” Max is napping, since he doesn’t settle down too well when he’s left alone in the car.

I’m feeling totally pampered and relaxed. And still a little frustrated about the insurance company…

But we have one more treat today: another dinner date at Macaroni Joe’s!

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Eating out on a road trip, Friends along the way, On the Road, Texas, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Amarillo, day four…

  1. katyallgeyer says:

    what? no pic of the haircut and nails?! love that word “puppazzi” !!!!

  2. Marilyn Wheeler says:

    Second that! (pic & pupparazzi)
    All pins & needles about Tumbleweed.
    Have a great dine ~ waiting for the delicious details.

  3. Ellie Adams says:

    Third it!! All that and Macaroni Joes’s!! You know how to cope!!

Leave a Reply

