Amarillo – Day One


A big thank you to everyone who responded to Thursday’s post about our crash in Amarillo!

Max and I slept well, and woke to a beautiful sunny day – 8AM – we lost another hour yesterday when we arrived in Texas!! We’re now on Central Time…

I called the insurance agent back in Blue Hill and got the ball rolling on getting Tumbelweed diagnosed, and arranging for a rental car, which is part of my insurance coverage.

Unfortunately, my coverage is limited to $20/day – which doesn’t go too far if I needed to rent a similar size car to Tumbleweed. I’m going to look into a rider on my policy that gives better coverage in case of any future mayhem, and would suggest that to anybody.

It took most of the day to get the rental arranged, but by 3:30 we were leaving the Enterprise lot and heading for where Tumbleweed is laid up so I could get some things out of the back.

The car? It’s a Chevy Impala – the only car they had on the lot “if that will be OK with you, Ma’am.” It’s what they had so it had to be OK with me!

When I got to the towing company lot, the guy at the counter told me that an insurance appraiser had been there already to look the car over. Of course, my insurance company was closing today at 3:30 Eastern time, which means I won’t get the word ’til Monday.

I’m still trying to stay upbeat though. We are uninjured – no aches or bruises showed up overnight – and we have wheels again.

I’ve made a dinner reservation at Macaroni Joe’s, a place that allows dogs on their outside patio. So, I will have a lovely sit down dinner with wine, accompanied by the handsomest dog in town! What more could I ask for on a gorgeous Friday evening?

Meanwhile, I removed Max’s bandage this morning, and his foot is looking good. The swelling is almost gone, and he’s not limping at all any more. I still have to be on the alert for that nasty little sticker coming out somewhere, but for now things are looking good.

Tomorrow, we’re going to head out to the Cadillac Ranch, which I saw on the way here Thursday. Too bad I didn’t stop then; I might have avoided the crash altogether and we’d be 300-plus miles from here by now!

photo courtesy: dogfriendly.com


Here’s what dogfriendly.com says about Cadillac Ranch:
“This unusual attraction pays homage to the Golden Age of the Automobile with 10 Cadillacs (ranging from a 1949 Club Coupe to a 1963 Sedan) placed nose down in a row; their once original paint jobs have long since been covered by the ongoing graffiti of local and global visitors. This has become one of the most popular roadside stops in America and your dog can visit it with you.”

I also found the Elkins Ranch through dogfriendly.com that offers customized Jeep tours of Palo Duro Canyon and leashed, well-behaved (well, DUH!) dogs are welcome. So, we might take a tour on Saturday or Sunday, too.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Eating out on a road trip, On the Road, Texas, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Amarillo – Day One

  1. jane says:

    Hi Maureen.

    I am sorry to hear of your accident, glad to hear you and Max were not hurt. Courage!

    best wishes,

    Jane McCloskey

  2. hank says:

    sheesh, how many damn time zones ARE there?

    good foot’s better!

  3. Maureen Farr says:

    Let’s see: Eastern, central, mountain, and pacific. we’ve gone from pacific to daylight savings time (1) mountain (2) central (3) but somehow New Mexico had some screwy thing that made me think we lost another hour. maybe it was only THREE, but still. Isn’t that enough on top of everything else???

  4. Evelyn Hannah says:

    SO glad you are both OK and Max’s little paw is doing better. You sound like you are making the most out of Amarillo….Are there any cute cowboys there??
    Best wishes to you both.
    Evelyn and Bree

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Evelyn, I haven’t seen any cowboys yet – cute or otherwise! Maybe today… We’re going to saddle up the Impala and head out to the Cadillac Ranch (of course, I don’t expect any real cowboys there either!). Thanks for the good wishes.

  5. June Kellogg says:

    Hi Maureen, Just read your accident post from yesterday -inconvenient bummer! So glad you got a good night’s sleep! Car accidents always shake up our lifes. As much as we grow connected to our cars, I try to remember that it’s just dented metal that can be fixed, replaced, or recyled. The important thing is thankfully that you and Max are fine!
    I love you for saying that “you’re still trying to stay upbeat.” Treat yourself to something special while you’re waiting for insurance companies and car repairs and of course, give max a hug. Thinking of you, June

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks, June. I’ll hug him right now! He’s having his after breakfast snooze… You’re correct about the cars, but I have a particular affinity for this one, especially after all the miles we shared since January. Maybe he can be repaired. We’ll see. But whatever happens, Max and I are fine, and we’ll be heading for home again soon.

  6. Glad you’ve got a car, Mom! I’ve always wanted to see that caddy graveyard–should be a kind of cool diversion, eh? Think you might head up into CO while you are tied to Amarillo? Probably not, I know, but I am so enthused to go to CO someday! Well, hang in there–love, Cin

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks Cindy! We just came back from Palo Duro Canyon State Park, and Cadillac Ranch. CR is trashed – people spray the cars with graffiti and throw the empty cans on the ground. it’s disgusting.

Leave a Reply

