Busted flat in Amarillo…


Remember Janis Joplin’s opening line in Me and Bobby McGee? “Busted flat in Baton Rouge, waiting for a train / And I’s feeling nearly as faded as my jeans.”

Well, that’s how I’m feeling tonight in Amarillo…

After a long drive through a hot and dry Northeastern New Mexico and Northwestern Texas from Albuquerque to Amarillo, we arrived at our hotel about 4 PM.

Turning left across stopped traffic to get into the driveway, we were hit by an oncoming car in the curbside lane.

After traveling around 12,000 safe miles, it was shocking and upsetting to get into an accident on the way home.

Neither Max nor I was hurt; the driver of the other car asked to go to the hospital because her neck hurt – probably whiplash.

Tumbleweed didn’t fare so well. He’s looking pretty seriously wounded, as you’ll see from the photos below. I’m hoping we don’t have to take him out and shoot him.

Ouch. Tumbleweed, waiting for the wrecker…


This damage was the result of us being pushed into a car waiting in traffic to our left.


I am SO hoping this looks worse than it really is…


Tumbleweed, ready to go to the hospital – hopefully NOT to the boneyard.


I think it looks pretty bad, and I’m feeling pretty discouraged tonight. We’ve had such great adventures, us three tumbleweeds; I hate to think I may have to give this car up…

On the other hand, I have great insurance – remember Kathy Bates in Fried Green Tomatoes: “Face it girls, I’m older and I have more insurance,”? – and Max and I weren’t hurt. At ALL.

As a matter of fact, here’s a picture of that little tenderfoot resting on his bed here tonight:

Does he look too stressed out? More like, “Would you please put that camera away and let me sleep?”


And another Wednesday afternoon in Taos:

If I’m really good, would you please, please give me your sandwich??


The bandage on his foot is related to his earlier limping, not the accident. He woke up Wednesday morning with his lame foot badly swollen. I decided to supplement his pain meds with some homeopathic Arnica and some Rescue Remedy for dogs, so we went over to Whole Foods.

When I came out and checked on him to give him the Arnica and Rescue Remedy his foot was bleeding. So, it was off to find another vet…

Long story, short: We found a great vet at Good Shepherd Animal Clinic in Albuquerque. She diagnosed a foreign object, such as a cactus spine, or some other spiny desert thing.

After shaving his foot, draining the injury, and flushing it, she bandaged him up, and sent us off with antibiotics for the severe infection.

She also warned me that whatever it is, it’s still in there and migrating its way out – probably the back of his leg… “So,” she told me. “You’ll be somewhere along on your trip when that happens, but don’t panic! Just find another good vet and take him in to be treated…”

And then we went to Taos for the afternoon – a story that will have to wait for another time, as I have no energy for the telling right now.

I’m off to a hot shower and bed. Tomorrow, as Scarlet so famously said, is another day.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in New Mexico, On the Road, Texas, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Busted flat in Amarillo…

  1. katyallgeyer says:

    YIKES! Maureen & Max thank goodness you are both safe and okay after that accident! You are sooo lucky, girl! Was going to call you but read to end of your post and saw you are hitting the hay. Sending you big hugs and love from HP.

  2. sarah doremus says:

    Oh Mo and Max, How I wish I could give you both a hug and a scratch behind the ear max and a glass of wine and neck rub Mo. sarah

    • Maureen Farr says:

      What if I want a scratch behind the ear, Sarah?! thanks for the good thoughts. things are moving along today – we will have a rental car. hopefully the insurance appraiser will get to it today but more likely Monday. So, we are “stuck” here in Amarillo for at least the weekend.

      • sarah doremus says:

        sounds like you are making the best of it. anytime you want a scratch behind the ear I am your girl.

      • Maureen Farr says:

        Sarah, it’s true, we are making the best of a not so great situation. Max is healing nicely. As a matter of fact, tonight he was jumping from bed to bed again and being a crazy boy!

  3. Janet says:

    Momo, I’m so glad you and Max are OK! Infections, accidents, what a whirlwind. Just yesterday I came up with the idea of writing your’s and Max’s story in couplet stanzas for a kid’s book. I’d of course take great artistic/poetic liberty and have Max exploring places he only dreamt of from his crate (dang those dog access policies!), but thought it would be grand nonetheless…..hope you have good news regarding Tumbleweed (TMBLWD). Love, Jan

  4. Ellie Adams says:

    Oh!! I’m so sorry!! What a bad day!! I’m glad that you nor Max were hurt. Also hope that next steps won’t be too complicated! Thinking of you!!

  5. jane says:

    Hi Maureen.

    I am so sorry about your accident. It is the dread of all travellers. I am so glad you and Max were not hurt. best wishes,
    Jane McCloskey

  6. Catherine says:

    Oh no! So sorry about the accident and the infection. The bright side…you’re both unhurt and tumbleweed is, well, a car. No, don’t sent the Pixar police after me! So what can you do to luxuriate in Amarillo while your insurance sorts things out? Hugs to you! Catherine

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Good question Catherine. I’m not sure what we will do here, but we will be here for at least the weekend. 😦 there go all my plans to be on the East Coast by mid week…

  7. Oh no!! I am so sorry…Sweet little tumbleweeed all crunched and little max limping…oh dear…hang in there Mo..wishing you a host of kind strangers, a smoothe recovery from this set back and a safe journey home.

  8. Evelyn Hannah says:

    OH NO !!!
    Thinking about you three, keep us posted 😦
    Evelyn and Bree

  9. Gandalf says:

    By th time you read this you’ll have had a good night’s sleep and in a better problem solving mode, but know we’re thinking about you both. Here’re some other things to occupy your mind. The weather was so good yesterday I spent three hours beginning to make firewood out of a huge ash and major black locust branch Sarah Margaret had dropped last fall by a professional tree person. While we get outdoors in winter, it’s more often play than work; it’s good to have truly productive times again. Why, the garden’s almost uncovered of snow! (Yeah, right!)

    Every morning early, before Hogie’s let out, SM is visited by a herd of up to thirty deer, who flood the field opposite her (the horses don’t seem to mind a bit) and then they flow up her lawn and up into the steep wooded hill behind her house. With snow still on the ground they are very visible as they ease through on their morning rounds.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks Hendrik for the diverting thoughts! we are both rested and waiting to hear from Enterprise rentals on a car. Insurance is working on getting an appraiser out to assess damage. the sun is out, it’s not hot, so life is OK.

  10. hank says:

    ok, you’ve got my interest. in related news, guide checks are coming in

  11. Joni says:

    Morn” to the three ofyou! Soooo sorry to hear of your yesterday. It has all been said by your wonderful friends! It is always so sad to see cars “hurting.” But it took care of you and that is thankful… Much caring to all of you! Joni

  12. BIG 😦 . . . I am so glad you and Max are fine–so sorry that Tumbleweed ISN’T. Don’t give up yet though–it may be more cosmetic than you think, although expensive nonetheless, but you may drive Tumbleweed home yet. . . Hang in there! love you both, Cin

    PS–what a lot of supportive, loving friends you have!

  13. I look forward to your postings, sharing your adventures.

    This morning I was thinking about all the miles you’ve travelled with no unexpected problems regarding Tumbleweed. The Element is a reliable vehicle; you obviously are a defensive driver; and Max is an ideal travelling companion.

    And then thinking about how you must be balancing your “back to the barn” instincts with absorbing all you can on the return journey…

    Virtual hugs for you and for Max.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks Marilyn, I love that Element, and hope it can be repaired! Defensive driving didn’t play into this one, I’m afraid. I got a citation for turning and causing an accident! Oh well. Insurance is sending out an adjuster so I should know later today if Tumbleweed can be repaired or not. Am working on getting a rental car.

  14. guy oliver says:

    Maureen If you need any local help, try contacting Eldo and Mary Horn, Mary was my secretary when I had to work for a living. Any friend of mine is automatically a friend of Mary’s. “Other than that Mrs. Lincoln how did you enjoy the Play?” Glad you and Max escaped injury and I sure feel sorry for little Tumble Weed.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks so much, Guy. So far, I’ve been enjoying the play!! Insurance is sending out an adjuster so I should know later today if Tumbleweed can be repaired or not. Am working on getting a rental car.

  15. Caroline King says:

    Hi there! I am so glad to hear you and Max were not hurt. It must have been the week of accidents, as Michael was run off the road by a car in his lane going the wrong way…Michael is well – I have got to love that BIG Buick for protecting him! The Buick took the snowbank and guardrail in stride and is still rolling along. And the other car, we are thankful and blessed that it had a responsible owner with great insurance to get things all put back together.

    Please take good care of yourself and Max! Spring has arrived, if only for one day, in western Maine. Snow is receding and mud is thick, but the sun is shinning and it has warmed up to nearly 50 degrees.

  16. Maureen Farr says:

    wow! glad Michael (and the Buick) are OK! Max and I are safely ensconced in a La Quinta for the weekend. waiting to get a rental car. enjoy the warmth – spring IS coming!

  17. Any news on an Adjuster yet? Hope Tumbleweed can be repaired and quickly! love you, Cin

Leave a Reply

