Happy Birthday


What a wonderful thing to be at a friend’s house on my birthday; cards from family arrived in today’s mail. A sweet and touching handwritten note from my granddaughter, Maya, a card from her parents, and this amazing detailed drawing of me, Max, and Tumbleweed on our adventure, drawn by my 10-year-old grandniece, Eve:

Check out Max leaning out the window behind me, and some of the interesting things we’ve seen along the way, like an alligator, cactus, big redwood tree, and a rabbit!! I love the winding road she has Tumbleweed driving.


Her brother, Miles, sent me a Birthday Maze that he drew – his new favorite thing to draw, according to his mom.

We slept in this morning – up at 6:30 to let Max out, then back to bed for a “quick” snooze that lasted until 8:20!! The latest that pup has let me sleep in a long time. I guess we both needed the rest…

Off to the dog park after breakfast, and a great romp with a dog who was part Catahoulie, about three months older, and full of as much energy as Max. By the time we parted company, Max was up to his armpits in mud once again! I was actually quite proud of my young fella because he was leaping all around with this other young dog and I said, “Max! Come front!” To my great delight, he broke off and came to sit in front of me! Exactly what I’ve been training him to do. I wasn’t sure he’d obey – which is a risk with training. You want him to do what you ask every time, so this was a huge show of obedience for him.

We needed about three gallons of warm water to clean the mud off when we returned home…

Later, after lunch, Diana and I took both dogs to the Rhododendron Gardens here in Portland. It was still partly sunny, and mild (at least for my Maine blood!) at around 50 degrees. While there wasn’t much “in bloom,” it was just a pleasant time to be walking with my friend and our dogs.

There are a couple of ponds, a couple of bridges to walk over, and lots of meandering paths through the woods and gardens. Max really wanted to chase the wild ducks and Canada geese who were hanging out in, and on the banks of the ponds.

This Canada gander wasn’t happy with us coming too close to his ladies. He was big enough that he would have roughed Max up if he got too close!


Here are some photos from the gardens:

Snowdrops?


Me and puppy boy…


There were clumps of daffodils scattered throughout the gardens. What a great sign of spring.


Ducks on one of the ponds.



My three pals: Max, Diana, and Puszca.


While we were walking, my cell phone rang – my son, calling from Maine to wish me a happy birthday! I had a really nice conversation with him, and we are plotting how he could maybe fly out and meet me for part of the trip back! I’d love to have him along for a while… we’ll see if it can be worked out.

It was really wonderful to be out strolling around the gardens. Puszca behaved much better than Max, so I imagine Diana enjoyed the walk even more than I did… After a while, he settled down, but that first 15 or 20 minutes was a real battle of wills as to who would take whom where! Ultimately? I won. He’d say differently…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Friends along the way, Oregon, Portland, Puppy antics, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle, Washington and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy Birthday

  1. sarah doremus says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MO! MAY THIS BE THE BEST OF MANY TO COME. HUGS AND LOVE AND OF COURSE LICKS FOR MAX SARAH

  2. Gandalf says:

    OK, Mo, here’s your morning lesson in animal husbandry. The gander in question with the prominent black nob and whitish wattle is most probably an African goose (domestic) or, less likely, a Chinese goose (domestic). Canada geese pair up so far as I know; they don’t behave like roosters (one) and chickens (many). I don’t know about African geese, tho; for all I know they’re outrageous Lotharios. 😉

    We’ve had lots and lots of rain in the past two days. The snow pack has decreased enormously and spring is definitely on its way as the height and warmth and length of the sun is clearly telling us even up here in New England’s north country.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      OK, so I don’t know geese about birds!! thanks for the lesson… glad to hear that the snow is shrinking. I’m leaving Portland tomorrow to start south and find a good place to turn left for home.

  3. June Kellogg says:

    HAPPIEST BIRTHDAY MAUREEN!
    Thanks for the photos of dogs and flowers! We’re finally getting rain here instead snow, so spring may on the way in Maine.
    Have a wonderful day on your journey,
    June

  4. Ellie Adams says:

    Oh!! Daffodils and crocuses (or is it croci?) !!! How pretty! One day we will have them here!! What a nice way to celebrate your birthday!! I’ll add to the happy wishes to you!!

  5. Yay! I’m so glad it was such a great birthday! Great photos in this post–I love to see all the blooming flowers and geese and of course the two dogs! Happy, happy birthday again! xoxo, Cin

    • Maureen Farr says:

      THANKS CIN, we did have a great day. and today has been really nice as well. Diana and I and the dogs just came back from a little cafe down the street where we had apple hand pies (as they call turnovers here) and latts. we’re going over to her friend, Joan’s house for wine and cheese later…

      • Nice! I like the name hand pies too–it makes sense, doesn’t it? You hold them in your hand! Have fun at the wine and cheese pahtay!

        Did I see that you are leaving 2morrow mawnin’ fo’ pahts unknown, deah? Where you goin’ to?

      • Maureen Farr says:

        I’ve decided to wait and leave thursday. wednesday, we are going to mt st helens, the art museum, and the japanese gardens!

  6. Evelyn Hannah says:

    Happy Birthday !!!
    What womderful birthday pictures from your grandkids Such a great imagination to draw your wonderful adventures all around you!
    Here in New Orleans we have finally come to the end of Mardi Gras and what a time it was !! It will take weeks for the city to be back to its “clean” self again !!
    Big hug to Max from Bree!
    Safe journeys Evelyn

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks Evelyn, I want to frame the drawing of Tumbleweed when I get home, as a great memento of the trip and also of my grandniece at age 10! I hope Mardi Gras was fun for you and Bree… I’m not sure how far south I’ll be going but if we are passing your way again I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

