Sunny Seattle Saturday!


Thanks to the weather gods – we woke to a promise of sun today. By the time we walked outside, came in and had breakfast, the sun was up and it was a glorious morning here in Seattle. It even felt warm when we went out again about 8:30 – although I think it was only about 40 degrees.

A quick shower and we were out the door – ready for sun, but prepared for rain… I found a dog park last night that sounded promising, so I punched the address into the GPS and let Jack lead us there. Golden Gardens Park is in the Ballard neighborhood in Northwest of Seattle overlooking Puget Sound.

When we drove down the road and spotted the dog park, Max went bonkers! We could see down on the park from the road above, and there were LOTS of dogs running around. Max was beside himself, but managed to maintain enough composure to allow me to get a handful of treats for my pocket, some cleanup bags, and lock the car before tugging me towards the gate.

We spent a marvelous hour in the dog park – which was large, fenced, with some trees (handy if there is ever summer here!), benches, and a bit of a hill on two sides. He found a ratty old tennis ball and I had to toss it for him. YUCK! A young boy named Jason, maybe 12 years old, and mentally handicapped, came over and started playing ball with Max, giving me a bit of a break from the grungy old ball.

When we left, Max had mud to his armpits, mud on his muzzle, and a happy grin. I cleaned him up as best as I could with a towel at the car, then we headed downtown to find The Dog in the Park –& a hot dog place on 4th Ave that came up with four star ratings on Yelp.com when I looked for “dog parks, Seattle”!! By the time I found it, parked the car, and got to the end of the line, the guy behind the counter announced there were “no more hot dogs. I ran out of buns!” So, I didn’t get to try them.

Disappointed, but determined to find some good street food, we made our way up Pike Street towards the Convention Center. As I was walking, I noticed a créperie with a walk-up counter across the street. We got in what looked like a reasonable line –& and ended up taking over 30 minutes to order and get my crépe – which turned out to be exceptional! Fig and apple, with goat cheese and sliced almonds. Ooh! La! La!

Looks a little crazy, huh?!


The two cooks are constantly making crépes to order. Watching them made the half hour go by in the blink of an eye. OK, maybe a slow blink…


Max was good – sitting or lying down while we waited – and after a while a little boy named Matthew started talking to me about Max…

Matthew is 5-1/2 and he thought, “The dog was a big toy stuffed with a present at first.” He liked this picture I took of Max, so I let him take a couple more for me:

I’m of French descent. Shouldn’t I be getting one of those things?




Meanwhile, the cooks were hard at work making crepes:

My crépe was passed to me wrapped for walking around and eating. I should have taken a photo, but didn’t… It was every bit as scrumptious as figs, cooked apples, goat cheese, and almonds can be. So good in fact, that I managed to bite into it and squirt a blob down the front of my scarf and onto my purse!! Max valiantly (and happily) helped clean me up.

In all my meanderings around downtown, I forgot what street the car was on! So, we wandered for another 15 minutes until I saw a landmark I recognized, and voila! There was Tumbleweed, right where we left him!

So, what do the tourists do when they come to Seattle?
Pike Place Market? Sure, that was a possibility, but the street was blocked off and parking seemed to be an issue.

How about…

THE SPACE NEEDLE?

Unfortunately, Max, it’s NO DOGS ALLOWED.


He didn’t really seem to mind that he couldn’t go up to the top. He’d much rather keep all four feet (and nose) on the ground anyway.

After we walked around Seattle Center, which is the site of the 1962 World’s Fair, I took Max back to the car with a promise to return soon, and went back for my ascent.

It’s official – I’m going to the top…


Here are some views from the top:

Clouds were building in, but there was still sun in the sky. The 360° view was wonderful.


Self portrait with Seattle from Space Needle.


Waiting for the elevator:

Back on terra firma, I headed for my good dog and car. Before leaving, I took one more shot from a different angle:

What looks like a leg of the space needle straddling the building is actually a streetlight pole. An unintentional addition…


And here is my official souvenir digital photo – proof that I really made the “flight!”

Seattle shone for us today. We sampled some of the downtown street life, had a delicious lunch, I got to go to the top of the Space Needle, and we had a great romp at Golden Garden Dog Park – which is rated one of the top 10 dog parks in the US! Max was a happy boy, out and about all day, greeting and being greeted, petted, and appreciated.

Tonight was dinner in – roast chicken, mashed potatoes and broccoli, all hot from Whole Foods, and carrot cake for dessert. Plus an Old Rasputin Stout from North Coast Brewing Co. in Fort Bragg, CA.

Tomorrow, we are meeting Anna and her friend, Sophie, for brunch at Sophie’s grandmother’s house, then heading south for “home” – Portland, OR… and more adventures on the road (and off).

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in crepes, Eating out on a road trip, Friends along the way, On the Road, Portland, Seattle, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle, Washington and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunny Seattle Saturday!

  1. Oh good–I’m glad you went up in the space needle! I was starting to despair when I read the part that no dogs were allowed that you might give up and not try it out–the photos prove how worth it it was! I think the clouds make it look more interesting–cool!

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    It was pretty cool. it’s 520 feet high, and I imagine you can see a great distance on a clear day.

  3. Boy, you’re up early–7 am there, huh? Boy, I would love to see the view from the Space Needle moiself someday! I love when I can live vicariously through you these days though–I will make it there someday, surely!

  4. Maureen Farr says:

    Whaddya mean – early??! We’re always up at 7… mostly.

  5. Joni says:

    Makes me homesick! Sooo glad you two had a “good” Seattle day. When the weather is good, Seattle is the best of towns! Space needle is wonderful to get a lay of the land. Did you see Mt Rainier? Amazing when it if “out.” Called Seattle my home for nearly 30 years, but really love Portland, Me now….Thanks for your wonderful narrations and pictures. Where to now?

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Joni, we did NOT see Rainier, nor St. Helens, nor Hood this weekend. Had a great time however. am starting to think about moseying back down the coast towards a place where I can turn left for home!

  6. Diana Richardson says:

    Mozelle, One of your best posts to date! Funny, informative and hilarious pictures of Max.

  7. Brenda says:

    Wonderful descriptions of you and Max. He has such personality and is so gorgeous. Great fun to read about all your adventures.

  8. Maureen Farr says:

    Thanks Brenda! I’m glad you are along with us!

Leave a Reply

