Sunday brunch, Monday rain…


Sunday morning. Let’s go out to breakfast. One of my favorite meals out is breakfast, so what better place to do it than a city? Diana and I fed the dogs, bundled up and took them to the dog park for a nice romp, then we went off in search of Portland’s best brunch…

We started at Tasty and Sons – sounds so like a bad Chinese restaurant to me, but it’s actually a very hip – and popular – place. Although the joint was jumping when we got there at 9:20, there seemed to be no waiting line. We asked where to put our name in and were sent to the back of the restaurant, where the hostess was standing with her clipboard – taking names, and advising that there was a ONE HOUR wait.

Okay. Plan B.
Let’s head to Country Cat – which sounds to me like a place my old granny would go for Sunday dinner with the family! Wrong again. It’s another hip and popular place with a very creative menu. Just my kind of place. We called on the way and were told there was – maybe – a 30 minute wait.

By the time we got there 10 minutes later, there was NO line and an empty booth! What timing. We slid in and ordered a double latté for me and a decaf for Diana, and began looking at the menu.

“Do you like a Benedict?” Diana asked. Oh yeah. I LOVE them…

“The Benedict here – with the smoked steelhead – is fabulous!”

H-m-m-m… I had my heart set on pancakes, but I can have them another day. “Oh, and the homefries here? The best I’ve ever had anywhere!”

Two orders of Eggs Benedict with smoked steelhead, spinach, and light lemony hollandaise on a freshly made biscuit. While we waited, I noticed they offered – get this! – Paprika Fried Potatoes with Honey and Ricotta. What a creative and unusual combination. Gotta be good, right?

When our waitress brought our breakfast, I asked about the potatoes and she said they are amazing. The potatoes sit on a bed of ricotta, and the honey is drizzled over top. “The whole thing sort of melts together,” she aid. “It’s my favorite thing on the menu!” SO, now we have to go back some afternoon for a late lunch or go for dinner! There’s also an amazing baked brussel sprouts with cream and toasted walnuts that Diana says is to die for.

Did I take pictures? no… Was it delicious? Oh yeah. Light, lemony hollandaise, perfect eggs, steelhead trout, spinach… all on top of the best buttermilk biscuit I’ve had in a long time. The homefries? Crispy, golden brown chunks of potato – not greasy, hot and steamy… Best brunch in Portland, hands down!

Yesterday afternoon, after some dog and people naps, Diana and I made a delicious Moroccan stew for dinner. With a bottle of Soulmate Red from Grey Wolf Winery (remember the morning I stopped on the way out of Paso Robles? One of those bottles), she, Jim, and I had a wonderful rainy night dinner.

Today, more rain… Big Surprise! It’s Portland, Oregon for Pete sake! Rain, snow, rain, snow, rain, rain, rain… and more rain! Everything is lush and green, so it’s hard to feel depressed over the rain. However, I would like some sunshine! Diana took Puszca for a walk around 10, and I took Max about an hour later. It’s way too hard to walk together because all Max wants to do is catch up to Puszca or be in the lead. He pulls, I get frustrated. Hence, the separate walks!

When can we go outside???


As he and I walked around the neighborhood, we saw these ducks:

Rubber Ducky, you’re the one… These little stumps were out there to keep cars from parking in front of someone’s house. I guess the ducks were there to get drivers’ attention… They added a bright spot of color, and gave me a chuckle.

We had a lovely walk, and returned to settle into the cozy house. Max got up on the bed to nap while I post:

What are you doing on that thing?

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Eating out on a road trip, Friends along the way, On the Road, Oregon, Portland, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday brunch, Monday rain…

  1. sarah doremus says:

    those homefries sound wonderful. Remember the recipe.

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    Sarah: recipe? cut up potatoes. fry. season. serve. ?? I got you a funky gift today… soon as I saw it I knew it was for you!

Leave a Reply

