Goodbye Vanessa, Hello Jack…


After Sunday’s hair-raising, white knuckle drive through the mountains between Ukiah and the coast, Vanessa somewhat politely told me that she was leaving. Right now. Right here.

“It is my profession to guide you,” she informed me yesterday afternoon. “And you repeatedly ignore my directions and go haring off down roads you have no idea about.”

Well, that may be true, but we have had some interesting side trips…

“Be that as it may, I am done. I’m going back to Australia.”

At least stay on until we get to someplace like Portland with a major airport…

Turns out she would rather hitchhike with a stranger than spend another minute in the car with me! So, there I was – in a parking lot in Eureka, CA – without the dulcet Australian tones of Vanessa the GPS gal. “Stop calling me that! I am a Navigator!” and with those last words, she grabbed her bag and jumped out of the car…

I interviewed a couple of others for the position, and a pleasant enough American named Jack has taken over. So far, so good. He got us to our motel in Arcata without a screwup. We’ll see how he does today.

Last we saw of Vanessa, she was sliding into the passenger seat of a silver Nissan Sentra. I pity the driver…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in California, California Coast, Musings, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Goodbye Vanessa, Hello Jack…

  1. Janelle Delicata says:

    Kerouac?

  2. katyallgeyer says:

    maureen,
    this made me chuckle bigtime!
    glad you r having fun with your blog as well as your dog 🙂
    i will be home friday night n will catch up with you to share
    travel stories over the weekend!
    xo
    k

  3. Wow, what a fair-weather friend Nessa turned out to be, huh? Our Molly has hung out with us through thick and thin, despite the fact that I sometimes don’t take ANY of her directions during a trip. . . Well, good riddance to bad trash, I say!

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Well, V was a handful right from the start – remember Florida?? Molly isn’t related is she?

      • Not in the least–she has only given me one misdirection, and to be perfectly honest, I am convinced that the business that she told me was on the right side of the street had MOVED to the left side recently, and she hadn’t been updated yet. I trust Molly implicitly. . . 😉

  4. hank says:

    oh my god, this all started somewhere outside of barstow, ether, bats…

  5. Catherine says:

    Hi Maureen,

    I loved this post. I’m not a fan of GPS units and being the dinosaur I am, I like paper maps, that is when I have reading glasses around and can actually read the words!

    Although I missed seeing you and going to Pt. Reyes Sunday, I loved the description of the trip to Mendocino. I dated a man who lives in Little River and so your descriptions reminded me of how knocked out I was every time I saw that view! It’s a magical place with or without the mushrooms.

    Maybe we’ll get that West Marin trip in on your way back?

    Catherine

  6. Evelyn Hannah says:

    You crack me up!!
    I’m loving following you and Max’s expeditions. I have been to alot of these California spots so I can relate to the beauty and scary twisty high roads. Enjoy.. Enjoy !!
    Eve and Bree

Leave a Reply

