Taking pictures with my heart


Yesterday, driving through West Texas, I came across one radio station that was loud and clear. I don’t know where they were broadcasting, but the show was Cowboy Corner and they were playing genuine cowboy country music. If I have a choice, I don’t choose country music, but this show was really excellent.

The host is Red Steagall. Here’s what his website says about him :
“For the past 30 years, Red Steagall has entertained around the globe as a recording artist, songwriter, television and motion picture personality. In 1991, the Texas State Legislature selected Mr. Steagall as the ‘Official Cowboy Poet of Texas.’ His legendary Texas Swing dance music has made him a favorite among cowboys. And critics across America have referred to Cowboy Corner as ‘masterful.” Red’s love for our great western heritage and the cowboy way have made Cowboy Corner a truly authentic western celebration.”

Between songs, he read poems written about the cowboy life (maybe by real cowboys), and added commentary – all very thoughtful and insightful.

He had another guest on and they discussed “America’s biggest problem – water. Who “owns” it, what is happening with water rights, how to protect water usage for both the growing population in the west and for agriculture. It was an interesting discussion, and not at all one-sided. It’s a huge issue that many of us who live in cities, or places not close to the agricultural areas may not appreciate. How do we balance the needs of a growing population with the needs of agriculture? Red and his guest presented a good discussion.

The last song I listened to before the station faded was called Taking Pictures with my Heart, a really beautiful set of lyrics about being out on horseback early in the morning. He’s sitting on his horse atop a mesa looking out at the land and realizing how fortunate he is to be out there, doing what he does for not much pay, and “taking pictures with my heart.”

Hearing him express that so well, made me appreciate once again this epic journey Max and I are taking. There I was, out in the middle of big sky, sagebrush, cactus, and rolling fields of West Texas on a brilliant blue sky day with nowhere in particular to go and everything possible in front of me. As I drove on I smiled and started adding pictures to my heart, and looking back at some from my past.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Musings, On the Road, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Taking pictures with my heart

  1. Nice post! Love the sentiments here! xoxo C

  2. Diana Richardson says:

    Aaaahhhhhh! Lovely.

  3. katyallgeyer says:

    I’m living vicariously through you, sista! Love that you’re on the wide open road with Max and having so much time to think on things. Sorry Max got burred and spurred in your last post. Sending you lots of good qi.
    xoxo

  4. guy oliver says:

    Maureen You are experiencing what it means to be a Texan. It takes something like this to realize why Texans are such a proud breed. I was not born a Texan but all 4 children were and I lived most of my earlier years as a transplanted Texan. No matter how often you leave Texas it is always revealed in the pictures you took with your heart.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Too true once again, Guy! I’ve spent the afternoon driving from Carlsbad to Roswell and enjoying the country music all along the way. It’s just appropriate for the landscape!

  5. Ellie Adams says:

    This was lovely!! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

