Sayonara Savannah … maybe on the return


Didn’t go into Savannah this morning. The big winter storm that has been kicking the southeast with snow was pouring rain pretty heavily on us, so I decided to head on down the road and get to Orlando. As much as I’ve wanted to see Savannah (for the past 12 years or so), it will have to wait for our return trip.

We traveled through rain all day, sometimes heavy, sometimes so little I could turn to intermittent wipers. Arrived here about 4:15PM to 68 degrees! Way over-dressed for it.

After we got settled in our room, I went down to the front desk and asked Razi if there was a park nearby to take Max for some running. He sent me to Celebration – a small Disney-designed, “perfect town” just 3 miles from where we are staying.

I found the elementary school and Max and I played with a tennis ball for 30-45 minutes until he was panting and ready to get back in the car.

If you’ve ever seen the film “The Truman Show,” you have a good idea of what Celebration, Florida looks like. Perfect little houses line perfect streets lined with rows of majestic palm trees. There was nobody out and about at 5:30, so the whole place had an eerie (to me anyway) feeling of a deserted movie set. Give me my old, imperfect house any day.

I think Max and I are both a little road-weary, having driven all the way from Deer Isle to Orlando in just 10 days. We’ve driven anywhere from 4-1/2 to 6 hours daily, with some breaks along the way to stretch our legs. Max has been a real trooper, and I’m impressed with his equanimity and adaptation to being a traveler.

Traveling with him has been both easier and harder than I expected. Easier because he’s such a willing partner. He loves to be wherever I am, he’s full of curiosity when we stop, and he’ll get right back in thqt car day after day and go along for the ride. Harder because it’s difficult to find places for him to run off-leash every day.

Now that we are in warmer weather, I’m planning to slow down a bit and start to appreciate the fact that we aren’t in Kansas any more…

We’ll be here for at least 2 nights, then maybe head further south in Florida and see if we can find some places to camp. Part of the push to get here was because my son, PJ, and his wife, Julie, are in Orlando this week and we can all meet up for some fun.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Musings, On the Road, Random thoughts, Traveling with a dog, Traveling wth a poodle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sayonara Savannah … maybe on the return

  1. Good morning, good afternoon and good evening to you! That’s a sort of paraphrased quote from the Truman Show! Sounds like a bit of a scary town! Glad you’re down where it’s warm though! Cin

  2. Bruce Matters says:

    Hi MO you are an advanturer that’s for sure. Now you are with all the snow birds, and heading south , lots of traffic, but lots of camp grounds , clean good showers , dog friendly people and warmer weather. You most likely will go all the way to Key West , remember its a long way back up north. If you need a break on your way down or back up I can hook you up with my cousins in Naples , I am sure they would love to have you, and they are very good hosts , and love dogs. Let me know Bob & Kathy are really great people. You are on a fast pace , remember to get some rest, and the Panhandel is a good place to do that. Say hello to Max he is welcome any time. Bruce

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Hi Bruce, thanks for the kind offer of your cousins in Naples. I can’t decide whether to go to Key West or not. No camping sites available. pricey motels. I had hoped to stay there for a few days, but at over $120 night can’t justify it. camping would have been good. didn’t plan ahead… looks like colder weather is on the way for northern FL including panhandle, so I’m spinning my wheels trying to figure out which way to go!

  3. guy oliver says:

    Maureen Don’t you dare shorten your trip as it will deprive me of memories as I ride along with you. Seems like every where you go is where I have been and I admire your stamina and fortitude not withstanding getting to know you better and I see where Cindy gets her charming personality.
    Guy

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks Guy for encouraging me. it’s exactly what I need! I am now in Apalachicola – just arrived this afternoon and will spend the night. motel is right on the water and our bed looks out onto the gulf. pretty sweet! We traveled all day on Rte 98 and finally, finally, after many days, we are heading WEST!

Leave a Reply

