We’re leaving in the morning…


Last day of 2010 and I’m almost all packed to go… feeling anxious, a little sad, but mostly feeling this disturbance in my emotional equilibrium.

My daughter emailed and asked if I am scared and here’s how I replied:

I am a little scared. I found a book that Rufus had been reading called The Art of Pilgrimage by Phil Cousineau, and am taking it with me. I opened it at random and found a line that really hit home for me. Rufus had made many margin scratches to indicate parts that struck a note with him and this was one of them.

“The pilgrim’s motives have always been manifold: to pay homage, to fulfill a vow or obligation, to do penance, to be rejuvenated spiritually, or to feel the release of catharsis. The journeys all begin in a restive state, in deep disturbance. Something vital was missing in life; Vitality itself may be lurking on the road or at the heart of a distant sanctuary.”

I realize that I am feeling anxious about going: Do I have what I need? Did I pack too much? Too little? Will Max be bored? Will I? A part of me feels that whatever I bring and whatever gets left behind – it’s OK. Another part is judging a little bit my planning (or lack thereof). The plan is grand – go where the road and whim takes us. And the plan is small – go where the road and whim takes us.

But I also feel that it’s the right time to go and the right thing to be doing. I need to shake up my routine, to see other places, meet other people, stretch and push my comfort zone. So, on this last day of 2010, I am preparing to go out on a pilgrimage – seeking I know not what. I hope I recognize it when it presents itself.

and on that note, I will wish you all a very Happy New Year’s eve!

I hope all your revels are … just that – revels!

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Maine, Musings, pre-trip preparations, Random thoughts, Traveling with a dog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We’re leaving in the morning…

  1. Lindsay says:

    Godspeed and grand adventures

  2. Diana Richardson says:

    Mozelle!
    Oh, the Places you’ll go and the Things you’ll see! And, of course, the people you’ll meet.
    You are doing something very old………carrying on a rich tradition. To pack up and go is to risk, to adventure(ad=away from, as you know). It is to open yourself to the great what-ever-it-may-be. It IS a spiritual journey, of course, in the deepest sense; even if one doesn’t conceive of it as such. I’ll be enjoying vicariously your experiences and recalling similar travels of my own. And YOU HAVE A DEAR COMPANION, which makes it that much better! Wishing you the Best Year of Your Life! Love,love,love, Dianamore and Pusha
    P.S. It’s fabulous that you’re starting out on the first day of the New Year.

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Love, love, love to you too, Homegirl! You are so right about the companion. he’s such a great traveler, and so curious about the world. How can I not be curious as well?! And the first day of the year was chosen for the very reason that it’s the first day. I so look forward to seeing you, meeting Jim and Pusha, and seeing your sweet home. Not to mention a soak in the ofuro…

  3. katyallgeyer says:

    Feeling so lucky that our humble home will be one of your stops along the way of your pilgrimage! What a grand way to begin a new year…see you soon!
    Love,
    Katy

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Thanks Katy, I am looking forward to it. I plan to stop over in Portland and go on to Long Island to see a friend on Monday – heading south again on Tuesday. will email when I have a better sense of arrival at your house! Happy New Year! love, Maureen

Leave a Reply

