Blizzard Fun


Max and I went to Portland for Christmas; returned late yesterday afternoon in time to beat the blizzard that was working its way up the Eastern seaboard. Snow started about 8PM, and the strong winds whistled around the house all evening. When we went out at 11 for our pre-bed walk, there were about 3 inches of snow on the ground – pretty exciting for mister Max!

This morning, much to my delight, we had about 8 inches of snow and we still had power! Frequently, in these heavy windstorms we lose power for anywhere from a few hours to a day. Last night, I had laid a fire in the woodstove, just in case we lost power and needed supplemental heat. That’s still waiting for a match…

Max was pretty happy to see the snow when we went out at 7AM, to frisk around in it, and then to come inside the warm house for breakfast. It was a real winter fairyland out on our deck:

Mid-morning, Max wanted to go out again and I took advantage of the time to sweep snow off the car, shovel behind the car as well as another parking space behind the house. And I took advantage of Max’s delight in being with me in the snow to trust him to be loose while I did those tasks. He was perfect! Played around with some small branches that had snapped off the pine tree, and chased shovelfuls of snow as I threw them onto the growing mounds of snow by the parking spaces.

The Element in the elements! Still snow-covered – before I swept it off…


Max chooses a branch to play with while I clean up the car and driveway!


Needless to say, Max is STILL a puppy in spite of how well-behaved I may think he is! He chewed on that stick until it was only about a foot long and sometime when my back was turned into shoveling he took off. One minute he’s here, the next – vanished! Like aliens had swooped down and abducted him…

I started calling: “Here puppy! Puppy, puppy, PUPPY!” all to no avail. Putting the shovel aside, I walked out to the road, but (sigh of relief) there were no dog tracks in that direction. Then, I did the same heading uphill to the house next door. Ditto. NO dog tracks. This is when I started suspecting aliens…

Then, just when I was beginning to feel panic, and also beginning to curse myself for being “such an idiot to trust him,” he came racing back down the driveway from the house in the rear! Happy dog, smiling into the wind, he bounded right up to me and stopped. Miracle of miracles. Truly.

And what did I do? I praised him for a good dog, let out my breath, gathered him and the shovel up and went inside again.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Maine, Musings, Puppy antics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blizzard Fun

  1. Diana Richardson says:

    Well, you did the RIGHT THING, of course! Want to leave him with that good feeling of coming home to you!
    But, boy, don’t I know that feeling of …”Oh, God! Where is she now?” Looking up and down the street, calling and calling, no answer!
    Glad you made it home before the big storm hit. Are you really leaving Jan. 1??
    Lots of love, Homegirl!
    HG

    • Maureen Farr says:

      I’m still planning on leaving the 1st… sounds like weather is going to be good. I’ve got a lot to do this week to be ready! thanks for your lovely card – did you make it?? it has your touch for sure! Lots of love to you too.

Leave a Reply

