Early morning musings…


I’m grateful to my canine companion for his clockwork innards. If we “oversleep” on any given morning, it means we probably got up at 7 rather than 6:30 – 6:45… Trust me, there are very few days that we “oversleep”! Max seems to know it’s time to get up and get outside even with the blinds closed, and the sun nowhere hear above the treetops.

6:45 is when he slides off the bed and comes around to sniff my face and make sure I know it’s time. If I don’t get up, he heads downstairs on his own – usually finding some mischief to get into like grabbing my gloves off the kitchen counter, or ripping up the little notebook that I thought was OK on the table in the living room. Needless to say, I, too, am motivated to get up and go downstairs!

There’s an old mill pond just down the street from where we live in Deer Isle. Every morning, on our early walk, we go past it on our way to the village and back. The mill pond is on our right and Northwest Harbor on our left, and depending on the tide, water is in various stages – equal height on both sides of the road if it’s high tide, or rushing in or out the big culverts if it’s between high.

Most mornings, the sun hasn’t cleared the trees yet and the sky is glowing pink-purple in the east and frequently also in the west. Today was no exception to that – but there was also a beautiful fog bank out by the point in the harbor. As the sun came up higher, that fog bank turned into a misty curtain between us and the distant Camden hills. This morning, as we walked back from the village, I noticed the little red house on the point, nestled in amongst the fir trees, and catching the first rays of the sun. I wished I had my camera. Again. I seem to wish that a lot lately! Maybe tomorrow, I’ll remember to take it with me.

A large flock of ducks has been in the harbor for over a week, and we can hear them out there muttering and nattering on those quiet mornings when traffic hasn’t picked up yet. This morning, the ducks were gone, so our walk was pretty quiet.

As we walked in the early stillness, I thought about the joy this young dog brings into my life. I’m grateful for his curiosity, his boundless energy and enthusiasm for everything, his sweet disposition, his quick mind, and his willingness to be a “good dog.” They all help to shape him into a marvelous companion. I am also grateful for his need to get outside and move – even at 6:45 in the morning. Without him, I would have missed so many beautiful dawns.

I also thought about our upcoming road trip, and I realized I’ll need to find good spots to walk wherever we are. I hope they are as wonderful as this one. In the meantime, I expect I’ll miss these early morning walks from our house to the village…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Maine, Musings, pre-trip preparations, Random thoughts, Traveling with a dog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early morning musings…

  1. Lori C. says:

    Hey, Mo!! I’m having a blast getting caught up on your blog! Sounds like, “so far, so good.” Give my best, and most slobbery, to Max. xxox, Lori

Leave a Reply

