What to take?


It’s already December 3rd (my daughter’s birthday – Happy Birthday!), which means we have only 28 days to go… and I’m starting to think about what to take with me.

I’ve got the beginnings of a reading list together (will buy some of the books to start out with, and more as we go), a stack of maps, road trip books, and recommendations from friends. I found the perfect bag for the front passenger seat to organize papers, book, notes, laptop, etc. at Duluth Trading Co, only to receive a notice that it’s no longer available. BIG disappointment. It hangs over the seat back, has lots of pockets to organize in, and is basically a great over-the-shoulder bag with a flat bottom to sit on the seat. Back to square one. I’d like to have something that corrals all that “stuff” on the seat and keeps it in some semblance of order. Google will help me with that.

So, anyway, the reading list is on the kitchen counter, written on the back of a recycled printout in pencil. (More on the reading list in another post.) The little voice in my head is telling me to type it into a Word doc so I’ll have it with me and won’t lose it. I’ll do that – right after I find all those extra milk crates and lay them out on a 45″ x 48″ rectangle (almost square) that represents the space under the platform in the back of the Element.

My plan is to gather the tent, the folding chair, the “chuck wagon,” the portable PMC studio box, clothes, sleeping bag, and whatever else there’s room for. Then I will “edit” the entire stack down to what will fit in the designated space. I always say that I want to pack light when I travel, so this part of the planning is going to be my biggest challenge. How to pack all that I will need for a minimum of 2 months in such a small space. Can she do it? What will she take?

Oops! I forgot dog food, toys, cooler, laptop…

photo of the layout underneath the platform with milkcrates and other storage boxes

The red line overlay shows the 47" x 48" footprint of the space under the platform. Everything in this photo will fit under the platform - the green collapsible chair will probably be stored between the back of the platform and the rear hatch. The tent will probably be on the floor behind the driver’s seat for me to use as a place for the pillows when I sleep in the car. That would free up enough space for at least one more milk crate under the platform.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Camping in a Honda Element, Current reading list, Maine, Musings, pre-trip preparations, Traveling with a dog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

