Counting down the days…


It’s hard for me to believe that in a little over a month, my four-footed friend and I are heading out on this adventure. Max went to the doggie spa last Tuesday for his first ever professional grooming. He got the works; a great all-over trim, a bath and blow dry, his ears were cleaned, and his nails clipped.

Before I got there, I was worried about him – I’ve never left him in someone else’s hands like that for something so up close and personal. I was afraid he’d feel stressed out, or that the experience might make him misbehave. I wasn’t sure if he would be “manhandled” into submission if he didn’t like what was happening. After talking with Laura, the owner, and watching her with Max, I realized I had nothing to fear. My sweet little pup would be treated respectfully.

When I went back four hours later, he came bounding out of his “room” and promptly disappeared down the hall to investigate any other dogs in the building.

I called him and he came racing back to greet me, looking like a whole different dog from the shaggy bundle I left at 9 AM. To my great relief, he was happy and just as bouncy as ever. None the worse for the experience, and oh so much better looking! (That is, if you like a well-groomed dog.) No poodle cut for this boy – he’s all over one length, barely curly it’s so short right now. Still has his little soul patch, a curly top, and silky ears. Oh – and a little extra on the tip of his tail. All in all, he’s a smooth operator!

Check that off the list of things to do before we go.

Now, all we have to do is remove the back seats from the Element, clean the whole inside out (vacuum, wash, polish), re-install the platform, figure out how much will fit under that platform, decide what all that stuff will be… and keep counting down.

He’s really good about riding in the car. Jumps right up and gets in his crate. One day a couple of months ago we were out for a long romp and he was so hot and tired when we got back to the car that he wouldn’t get in his crate, so I said, “OK, stay there on the floor. We’re only going a couple of miles to home.” I was driving along and looked in the rearview mirror: there he was – in the crate – and I realized that his crate represents security and comfort to him. It’s the routine we do in the car – but for Max it’s more than that. It’s his place.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Camping in a Honda Element, Maine, Musings, pre-trip preparations, Traveling with a dog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Counting down the days…

  1. Nice post! Our little Max is growing up!

Leave a Reply

