Testing the tent


We picked up the tent at Charlie’s Honda on Thursday. It’s heavier than I expected, but I’ve never owned a 10×10 tent you can stand up in so what do I know??

Took it out of the box this afternoon so I could set it up in my big front room here at the apartment. It comes in a really nice zipper bag like an oversized duffel – even has handles!

Max and the tent in its bag

Max and the tent in its bag. Even after it had been set up and dismantled, I could still get it back in the bag!


Max was quite excited when I spread this crinkly big thing on the floor. He thought it was some new toy for him to play with and started grabbing at the corner rings and the straps. He didn’t think it was so much fun when I began to open up the tent poles – they’re really long and seemed a little scary to him, so he backed off to a safe distance to watch what his crazy owner was going to do next.

Big surprise (at least for me)!! It only took me 15 minutes to set it up! Then we both got in and sat on the floor. We can live in it quite comfortably if we want!

I think Max likes the tent… It's nice that we had a large room with 12 foot ceiling to set it up in!


I’d love to know who came up with this great idea. The tent can be a free-standing 10×10 foot tent with a 7’6″ center, and it can also be attached to the open hatch on the back of the Honda Element to give you easy access to all your “stuff” in the back of the car.

Thought (ever so briefly) about sleeping in it tonight, but that comfy tempurpedic won out over the hardwood floor… maybe we’ll give it a test night later this month.

Then it was time to dismantle it, roll it back up and fit it into that duffel bag again. Uh oh! Will it fit? Doesn’t look like it… oof! WOW! Got it back in there!! AND zipped up the bag with room to spare! YEE-HAW!

tent re-packed

The tent, re-packed in its bag, makes a tidy package. It will fit under the platform in the back of the Element.


One more thing checked off the list. And the clock is ticking down towards departure…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Camping in a Honda Element, Maine, pre-trip preparations, Traveling with a dog. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Testing the tent

  1. Cool post! That tent looks awesome, too!

  2. Charlie seems to have some questions.
    While your tent looks awesome, it could use a touch-up with an iron. .. not quite like the professional photo! ( I’m envious)

  3. Wow. It’s two years later and now I am waiting for MY tent.
    I ordered my Honda tent last week and it is supposed to arrive in 2 days.
    I am also planning a bunch of Element trip with the tent and my dog, Cooper.
    Cooper is a rescue dog and I’m sure the tent poles will scare him . Everything long and skinny scares him (extension cords, garden hoses, lumber, etc.
    I am also a designer– actually an art director working at an ad agency.
    I don’t write code so I design sites but don’t build them. The exception is my own site that I put together in a couple of days using Adobe MUSE.
    I am planning on setting up the tent for “test night” outside on the driveway.

    So now, two years later, what do you think of the construction/durability of the Honda tent? Weak spots I should look out for? Safety tips? Warnings?

    • Maureen Farr says:

      Hi,
      wow! a comment on something so far in my distant past! unfortunately, that winter of our trip was sooo cold everywhere that we never used the tent. I ended up taking it back to my dealer – who very kindly refunded and took it back. I felt that it was well made, and would have been durable. My dog, Max, is also nervous around things that make noise, but I guess you could get Cooper to wait away from the tent setup… Best of luck with the tent, your Element, and Cooper!

Leave a Reply

