Another decision made: we’re going for the tent


Although I knew I wasn’t going to put the rooftop tent on the Element, I did take a few days to fantasize about it.

Meanwhile, the idea of a tent that would attach to the Element (or be free-standing) and allow me access to everything in the car from the tent was getting more appealing every day.  Max would be able to sleep in his crate and I could sleep in the tent, without the distraction of him moving around all night.

We’d have a good base camp for those places where we stay for several days.  If it was rainy, we could access everything without going out in the wet.  Well, there are SOME things that require that we go out…

I was returning to Deer Isle from Portland yesterday, and stopped at Charlie’s Honda in Augusta to ask about the Element tent.  We bought the car there – and I like them a lot – so it made sense to me to give them the order for the tent.

While Max played the visiting dignitary, I talked with Mike Gregoire,  the parts guy, and decided to go ahead and get the tent.  With a good month left for camping, I can test it out before we actually hit the road in January!

My new iPhone4 arrived last week, and I got it set up and working.  Loaded in some apps that will help me navigate on the road.  Those will get tested in September too.

And when we got home last night, the egg crate pad I ordered to use in the back of the Element was waiting in a box on the back porch!

I’m going to test sleeping in the back sometime in the next week or so, and we’ll take a weekend camping trip soon to test the tent.

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Camping in a Honda Element, Maine, pre-trip preparations, Traveling with a dog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another decision made: we’re going for the tent

  1. katyallgeyer says:

    Mo,
    I’d bet that the Honda people would be super interested in your blogging about how great the Element and all its accessories are…why not approach them to sponsor your trip/ give you some gear? You’re a member of the press, after all!

  2. Caroline King says:

    You should test that tent near our house! You and Max are welcome anytime.

Leave a Reply

