Sleeping on the roof…


My friend Peter D sent me this link to a fabulous pop-up addition to the Element, which would allow me to sleep on the roof! It’s made by Ursa Minor, a company in Chula Vista, CA – south of San Diego.

I spent a happy hour going through their website, and following links to reviews, a Honda Element camping forum, and letting my own curiosity roam the “net.” As dreams go, it’s a good one. Ended up on eBay looking at Airstreams!

The idea of being able to park somewhere (safe) and pop up that rooftop tent in about a minute is hugely appealing. However, the more than $5,000 pricetag for one that is color matched to my lime green Element gave me pause…

This setup on the beach looks like quite a nice camping experience…


I own two tents – a 2-person one, and a larger 4-person tent. I already found yet another tent online last week that will connect to the open rear hatch of the Element and provide me with a standup living/sleeping space for around $300.

This one takes a little longer than a minute to set up, but it costs over $4,000 LESS!


I was having trouble justifying the expense of another tent when my friend Jeanne reminded me that this is a once in a lifetime trip and I can have what I want to be comfortable.

Although I love the look of the rooftop tent – both closed and open – I just can’t justify the cost. Also, I would have to pick it up in southern California – more than a third of the way through the trip! Not that it’s impossible – or even not sensible – it really comes down to money. I can make a lot of trips for the price of that one “tent.”

Thanks to Pete for sharing the link. I hope I don’t regret my decision…

About Maureen Farr

I am a graphic and web designer – and the publisher of the print version of Arts Guide, a free guide highlighting the arts, dining, events, and more on the coast of Maine. In addition, I am a visual artist working in mixed media and encaustic, as well as creating found object jewelry. I am currently at work revising a short novel that I wrote as a participant in the 32nd Annual 3-Day Novel Contest.
This entry was posted in Camping in a Honda Element, Maine, pre-trip preparations. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sleeping on the roof…

  1. Great post, Maureen! Here’s what I predict: if you keep making interesting posts like this that continue through your upcoming trip in January, a publishing house is going to pick up this blog and make it into a travel book! This was really interesting! Cindy

  2. Maureen Farr says:

    Thanks for the comment, Cindy. That is a lovely thought! Stay tuned…

  3. Love the blog already! Re: $5000 tent… nice, but crazy expensive! Go with the $300 one – it looks like it would be much more useful.

  4. katyallgeyer says:

    When you drive through central NC you & Max must stay with us (FREE) for a night or two. We’ll have the sauna ready and waiting for you 🙂

  5. Loved the photos!
    Your welcome in South Pasadena, CA, too.

Leave a Reply

